June Books

Hmmm… is it just me or are there a lot of books scheduled to be released in June?  Here are the ones I’m planning on getting (and one I bought today) – starting off with the historical romances:

0451221494_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v46673742_.jpgJo Beverley‘s “Lady Beware” – This is the one I came across today and bought immediately.  It’s part of her Company of Rogues series – Dare Debenham’s sister meets the new Viscount Darien, who just happens to hate the Rogues.  From the back cover blurb, Viscount Darien’s name is actually Horatio Cave, which would nicely avoid the problem of too many Ds in the story…  While I prefer Ms Beverley’s Georgian books, her Regencies come a close second – so I’m looking forward to this one.  A couple of excerpts are up on her website.

0749938323_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v23241071_.jpgJulia Quinn‘s “The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever” – Not a Bridgerton book!  Yes, I do know Jo Beverley’s Company of Rogues series is probably longer than the Bridgertons, but let’s just ignore that fact.  Can’t remember if I’ve posted this before, but here’s a deleted scene (the original epilogue) from Ms Quinn’s “How to Marry a Marquis” – it’s reminded me of how much I love her books. 

Eloisa James‘ “Desperate Duchesses” – Start of a new series – a trilogy, I think.  Her Essex Sisters quartet bumped her up to my auto-buy list, so I’m keeping an eye out for this.  Ms James always provides a refreshing take on tried-and-true romance storylines, so this should be no exception.  Excerpt on her website here.

Moving on to the ummm… I think I’m going to say paranormal romance:

21twewxnsyl__aa_.jpgMeljean Brook‘s “Demon Moon” – Sequel to “Demon Angel”, which got a rather good reception in romance blogland when it came out early this year.  Having read the deleted snippets Ms Brook posted on her blog and Jennie‘s rec, I can safely say I’m grabbing this as soon as I see it!  I wonder if Colin can beat Hugh in the hero stakes?  Excerpt here.

Laurell K Hamilton‘s “The Harlequin” – The latest Anita Blake.  Okay, at 432 pages, it’s almost twice the length as “Mistral’s Kiss”, so that’s a good sign – I think!  Excerpts here - oh, and the cover’s pretty cool as well.

In fantasy:

Jacqueline Carey‘s “Kushiel’s Justice” – Second in Imriel’s trilogy.  Imriel has a secret affair with Sidonie, but chooses duty over love.  Ms Carey did hint at this in the first book, so I’m not surprised, though it isn’t my favourite plotline.  There had better be a HEA – if not in this book, in the next!  Excerpts here.

212b4xetwdl__aa_.jpgLois McMaster Bujold‘s “The Sharing Knife: Legacy” – While I would very much prefer a Vorkosigan book, I’m not really complaining – well, not much, anyway.  This is the follow-up to “TSK: Beguilement” – Fawn and Dag return to Dag’s Lakewalker home.  Full blurb here.

And finally:

0312349491_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v42704093_.jpgJanet Evanovich‘s “Lean Mean Thirteen” – I’m a big Plum fan, so I’m excited about this.  Yes, I thought the Valentine’s Day novella was a complete rip-off – but I just love this series.  More madcap antics, and oh yes, Morelli and Ranger.  Excerpts here.

Right, that’s my June booklist for now, though I suspect I’ve probably missed a few off.

4 Comments

Filed under New Releases

4 responses to “June Books

  1. Your shopping list looks a lot like mine. :) Except I think I’m going to try to get the Plum from the library–I love them, but not quite enough to pay the $27 or whatever they go for nowadays.

  2. It’s a good month for books :-)

    Unfortunately, my library’s not great at getting the latest releases, so it’s also going to be an expensive month – 4 hardcovers, ouch.

  3. Pingback: My June Booklist « Me and my books

  4. Pingback: New Books « Me and my books

Leave a Reply

