My June Booklist

I posted some time back about books I planned to buy this month.

Out of those books, I’ve read Jo Beverley’s “Lady Beware”, Eloisa James’ “Desperate Duchesses” and Laurell K Hamilton‘s “The Harlequin”.

On the first two – when I updated my list of books read in June with these two books, I ranked “Lady Beware” slightly higher than “Desperate Duchesses”.  Now I do this after reading each book (or as soon as I remember, anyway), so my grade for each book is independent of similar books.  

Interestingly, even though I ranked “Lady Beware” higher, it was “Desperate Duchesses” that stayed in my mind a couple of days after, while I had to think really hard to remember the details of “Lady Beware” a few days after reading it.  I think Ms James has a real talent for bringing characters alive, even though her storylines may not be as carefully linked together, if that makes sense.  Anyway, both are books that I definitely don’t regret buying.

As for “The Harlequin”, I thought it started off well with a really interesting premise, but sort of fizzled out halfway through.  A mysterious vampire hit squad comes to town, leaving masks to indicate their intention – white if they’re just observing, red if they’ve come for you.  So the scene is set for an intriguing peek into the world of vampire traditions – unfortunately, nothing really happens.  Both in the book and in terms of the overall series arc.  So an okay book, but well, nothing special.

Here’s an interesting review of “The Harlequin”, by someone who’s never read an Anita Blake book before.  IMO, the reviewer completely gets to the root of what’s missing in the later books.

I have Meljean Brook‘s “Demon Moon”, but haven’t properly started it yet – have just dipped in and out of the first couple of chapters.  I remember doing the same thing with the first book “Demon Angel” – I kept on reading bits and pieces until I reached a part that completely grabbed me, and then I ended staying up until 2am until I finished the book.  I think I need to plan it better this time around…

I haven’t seen Julia Quinn’s “The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever”, Jacqueline Carey’s “Kushiel’s Justice”, Lois McMaster Bujold’s “The Sharing Knife: Legacy” or Janet Evanovich’s “Lean Mean Thirteen” in stores yet – then again, I haven’t been in a bookstore recently.  Actually, I’m not sure if the latter two have been released yet.

Just checked, and no, they’re not officially out yet.  However, there appear to be more excerpts on Ms Evanovich’s website for “Lean Mean Thirteen”.

Also, the first chapter of Ms Bujold’s book is posted on the Eos blog, and if you haven’t yet read the first in the series “TSK: Beguilement”, here are the first couple of chapters.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “My June Booklist

  1. I just bought Desperate Duchesses–I’ve only read one James book and been meaning to try more. And I pre-ordered the Bujold on Amazon because it’s hardcover and I don’t want to pay full price. I’m really excited about it though, so I hope I get it near the on-sale date. :)

  2. I liked DD – my only grumble is that I didn’t feel that the Georgian period details really came through. It reminded me of her Duchess quartet books, with quite a few characters / couples being introduced in the first book.

    I’m trying to decide whether to pre-order TSK:L and Lean Mean Thirteen on Amazon now…

  3. Sadly so few of the Hamilton books are special anymore :( How I long for the earlier books with rich plots, fascinating characters…they’ve all evolved to paper now and sex robots :(

  4. Mmmm.. yes, I remember finishing the first five books in about a week or so, just because I literally couldn’t put them down! This was when I was at university, so all the lectures I attended during that week went by in a bit of a fog. They were so different from all other books out at that time – I now feel like digging them out and re-reading them at some point.

  5. I re-read the first books three times back to back ! That’s the first time that’s happened to me with a novel. Jean-Claude fan here, even bought the T-shirt, which I think they discontinued. B*stards. Rereading them is always fun :)

  6. Oh, I like JC as well – he’s the most fascinating one because of his long history. Okay, I definitely have to dig them out.

  7. Thanks for that link to the Harlequin review. It was fascinating, even having not read that far yet. (I just finished Cerulean Sins for TBR Day). If you check my review, you’ll see that I just said exactly what you said in comment #4. The first 5 were so so good. It almost feels like Hamilton is turning into Patricia Cornwell and letting a good thing go bad due to what the primary character is becoming.

Leave a Reply

