September books I want

A bit late with this one, but anyway, here are the books coming out this month that I’m planning on getting / have bought.  Not that many this month, really.

21ypizlafbl__aa_sl160_.jpg“Caressed by Ice” by Nalini Singh (Paranormal romance) – Despite the rather awful cover, I’ve been looking forward to this one.  It’s the third in her Psy-Changeling series, and the first where the hero is a Psy, not a Changeling.  Bought this one today – excerpts here.

0345496876_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v24223295_.jpg“Empire of Ivory” by Naomi Novik (Historical fantasy) – I so want this one.  It’s the fourth book in her Temeraire series.  Excerpt here.  The first Temeraire book (think dragons in the Napoleonic Wars era, if you haven’t read or heard about them before) was one of my favourite books last year, and since the publisher did that trick of issuing three books really closely together, it feels like ages since the third one came out.

Books that I’m in two minds about:

21e3wi-1eml__aa_sl160_.jpg“Fairyville” by Emma Holly (Paranormal romance) – My interest in this one is more for the author, than for the story.  I’m just not into stories about fairies or the fey, but I liked the last Holly book I read, “Prince of Ice”.  Hmmm… actually, I think I still have “The Demon’s Daughter” in my TBR pile – maybe I should finish that first.

21zr2bmht0rl__aa_sl160_.jpg“The Devil’s Right Hand” by Lilith Saintcrow (Urban fantasy) – I’ve read the first two books in this series, but two things are holding me back: first, I can’t warm to the heroine, and second, the previous two books did the cliff-hanger ending thing.  Which I really really don’t like.  So a maybe for me.

21p3-21kjxl__aa_sl160_.jpg“Many Bloody Returns” (urban fantasy anthology) –  In a nutshell: vampires and birthdays.  I want this because contributors include Charlaine Harris (Sookie), Kelley Armstrong (Cassandra’s the narrator!), Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampire short story), Tanya Huff (Henry, I presume), and Jim Butcher.  I’m hesitating because it’s hardcover, and reeeaally expensive for a relatively slim book – I think I saw it for £14 today.  Sigh – I think I’ll wait for the paperback version.

3 Comments

Filed under New Releases

3 responses to “September books I want

  1. Well you already know my thoughts on Caressed by Ice. :)

    I’m bookfasting in September in an effort to get through my TBR pile. But Many Bloody Returns is on the list to be bought October 1st.

    I have the first two Dante Valentine (LOL I hope that’s the protagonist’s name, I’m going by memory and am awful with names) in my TBR pile. Haven’t managed to get all the way through the first one yet. I did skim read it slightly (a bad habit I try not to indulge) and have to go back and read it properly. Though Japhrimel was my favourite character.

  2. I’ll be interested to see what you think of the Dante Valentine book when you finish it! I think I may cave and get the third book if I’m in the right mood and see it in the bookstore, but am not actively looking for it. And I think “bookfasting” is a great idea… however I have no willpower!

  3. Li, I hope you enjoy CBI. I dropped by ask you to email me. I have some good news for you. You might also want to check my blog :-)

Leave a Reply

