Books for January

Happy New Year everyone!

I’m in the midst of writing up my 2008 reading year in review, but obviously can’t ignore the new releases coming in January.  Here are the books I’m looking forward to:

 

51agMaU5GjL._SL160_Kelley Armstrong’s “Men of the Otherworld” (urban fantasy):  I love Kelley Armstrong’s website – it’s easy to navigate, has all the information you want on her releases, and is regularly updated at the beginning of every month.  And she offers free fiction too.  Sometime last year, she took down a few of them to be polished up and published in an Otherworld anthology, with proceeds going to charity.  And this is it, three stories about the men of the Pack – plus a new Jeremy novella.

Out Jan 27 (more details here)

 

51oeeigQeL._SL160_ “Mean Streets” anthology (urban fantasy):  I want this one because of Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden contribution.  The other authors are Simon R Green, Kat Richardson, and Thomas E Sniegoski – I haven’t read any of them before (or at least I don’t think I have?) but new-to-me authors are always good.  Also continuing the free fiction thing, here are a couple of Harry Dresden short stories.

Out Jan 6

 

31YsKxYeS7L._SL160_ Lois McMaster Bujold’s “Horizon” (fantasy):  The conclusion to her Sharing Knife series.  It took me a while to get into this series, what with my obsession with Miles and the Vorkosigan universe, but after taking ages to get around to reading “Legacy” (book 2), I realised just because it wasn’t Miles didn’t mean it wasn’t good.  Because good it is (in case you got confused by the preceding sentence).  Umm free fiction?  Here you go.  I’ve linked to it before, but “Mountains of Mourning” is an excellent read… and not just because it’s a Miles story.

Out Jan 27 (more details here)

 

It’s a pretty quiet month otherwise.  Probably worth mentioning that Janet Evanovich’s first full-length Between-the-Numbers Plum novel, called “Plum Spooky” (details here), is coming out Jan 6, but to be honest, I don’t really care about these books because Morelli and Ranger tend to be MIA and Diesel doesn’t really do it for me.

Any other releases worth highlighting?

7 Comments

Filed under New Releases

7 responses to “Books for January

  1. hi Li :D

    Did you read the novellas that are going to be in Men of the Otherworld?

    Also, Jim Butcher’s contribution to the anhtology… is it the one from Thomas POV? :D

    Happy New Year!

  2. Hey Nath – I skimmed through them when they were online, but it was a good while ago. It’ll be interesting to see if they have more impact now that they’ve been edited and cleaned up.

    And no, I don’t think it’s the Thomas POV story. That was published by Subterranean Press but only in trade and hardcover – I’m hoping they release a more affordable version or that it gets included in another anthology. I like Thomas ;-)

  3. Wow, Horizon will be out so soon? I took quite a long time to start the previous one, so it feels like the wait has been nothing *g*

  4. LOL. Whereas I’ve half-forgotten the story by now, so will spend the first few chapters of “Horizon” trying to recall what happened in “Passage”.

    Happy New Year, btw!

  5. I really enjoyed them when they were online!! So I’m really looking forward to the anthology :D

    Oh, I thought it was the one with Thomas POV… ah well, it’s still going to be a new addition to the series :D What I like is that there’s only 4 authors, so hopefully, the novella will be longer :D

  6. Nath – Yep, I’m with you. I’m rapidly coming to the conclusion I prefer longer novellas. There’s probably an official definition of the length difference between a short story and novella somewhere…

  7. Pingback: The Third Quarter of 2008 « Me and my books

Leave a Reply

