Book Splurge!

I actually have been quite good spending-wise this year so far.  Not on purpose – I just haven’t had any spare time ;-)

However, I’ve pretty much blown my book budget with this week’s purchases.

First up, thanks to Nath, Ames, and Monroe at Breezing Through, who held a giveaway to celebrate their 4th blogiversary, I had a $20 Kobo gift certificate (and a promise to do a buddy review, which I haven’t forgotten!).


I chose “Five Flavors of Dumb” by Antony John – which, rather appropriately, I first saw at Nath’s blog and sounded really interesting.  It’s a YA contemporary – Piper rashly promises to get her school’s newest rock band Dumb a paying gig within a month in return for becoming their manager.  Never mind the fact that Dumb is actually the most dysfunctional group ever or that Piper doesn’t really know anything about music, and oh, she’s deaf.

I also went for “An Unlikely Countess” by Jo Beverley, which was one of the March releases that I was eyeing.

And then because that wasn’t enough…

I mentioned several SFR books I sort of wanted some time back.  I caved and bought Sara Creasy‘s “Song of Scarabaeus”, because everyone seems to really really love it.  And since everyone also had nice things to say about Gini Koch‘s “Touched by an Alien”, I thought why not.

I added Elizabeth Bear‘s “Dust”, because Hilcia liked it so much and wrote a review that intrigued me.

And finally, because I have not read a single bad review yet – and every review I read makes me WANT it more and more, I got Stephanie Perkins‘ “Anna and the French Kiss”.

Stop liking books so much, everyone.

25 Comments

Filed under My Bookshelf

25 responses to “Book Splurge!

  1. Oo, yay, I like your selection!

  2. Ohh, great haul with your win money, Li! I look forward to your thoughts on the Creasy and Bear’s books. And I STILL need to buy Touched by an Alien (that’s next on my list). I’m not usually a YA romance reader, but Anna and the French Kiss just looks good. :) Enjoy!

    • I wish all of them had been with my win money :-D

      I am torn between the Creasy and Bear books for my next SF. Am leaning towards SoS because EVERYONE appears to have read and loved it recently!

  3. I bought Song of Scarabaeus because of Angie’s review and that sounded a lot like what I liked about Fires of Nuala – I’m now on page 24 and the wordbuilding sf bit reminds me even more of FoN – not that it is the same world but that the care with technology and language is similar. So far only Edie interests me…

    • Also, Dust is a heck of a ride, but – probably because it took so long for the other books to come out – I lost interest in continuing that series. The plot and world-building were stronger than the characters for me – and that is never my preferred taste, I guess.

      • I’m glad all three books are out now!

        I bought Fires of Nuala on your rec sometime back – haven’t yet gotten around to starting it though. For some reason, I keep on thinking it’s fantasy, probably because of the title.

  4. Looks like a great group of books, Li!

    I’ve been meaning to get to the Gini Koch books. They look like lots of fun. And, now with all of the buzz about Song of Scarabaeus, that’s one more for the tbr wish list! :-)

    • Hey Renee – yeah, I’m glad I caved and got all of these, I’ve been thinking about them for quite a while. And SoS has been making the rounds recently, hasn’t it!

  5. I just started Anna and the French Kiss this morning, and so far I am loving it!

  6. LOL, you got quite a nice haul there, Li!! :) I think you’re going to enjoy quite a few of them, seriously :P Touched by an Alien is something right up for you :) and I’m crossing my fingers for Five Flavors of Dumb!

    Let me know what books you want to buddy review!! :P

    • Five Flavors of Dumb, possibly? I’ve started with this and it is wonderfully addictive reading!

      And I had to get the Gini Koch after you sang its praises :-)

  7. Ooh, you got SoS! Happy reading there. I’m a little over halfway through the sequel right now and it’s excellent.

  8. Sure, it works for me, if that’s the book you want to buddy review :P I also just bought Song of Scarabeus… but I don’t know when I’m going to get to it.

  9. Enjoy all your books!!

  10. LOL, is Anna and the French Kiss good? I just ordered it… :P

    • I really really liked it.

      There was some very excellent falling-in-love type chemistry, yet the characters weren’t without flaws and that kept the story feeling quite real, instead of being too sweet and fairytale-like. And it reminded me of my college/university days when I stayed in the halls of residence, so it was slightly nostalgic for me.

  11. I recently read Song of Scarabaeus, too. :-) Loved it. I’ve got the 2nd book yesterday — I’m going to be good and hold off reading it for a little while because I want to take my time. From what I’ve been seeing (over at Angie’s), it only going to be a duology. On one hand, yay, resolutions! On the other, boo, because I liked the characters and the world building.

  12. Ooo! I hope you enjoy Touched By An Alien as much as I did! So much fun. :)

    I also loved Anna and the French Kiss. It was so very sigh-worthy, but grounded and…possible. I could imagine a story playing out like that out here in the real world.

    • That was what was brilliant about Anna – I could so see it happening in the real world, and as I said to Nath, it reminded me of my college/university days and I could so… identify ;-)

      And I haven’t gotten round to the Gini Koch yet, but with all your recs, it’s looking to be a good one!

Leave a Reply

