Books for July

The July new releases on my To Buy pile (and in a couple of cases, my Bought pile):

Kalayna Price‘s “Grave Dance” (urban fantasy):  I bought the first book in this series (“Grave Witch”) on an impulse and liked it enough to buy “Grave Dance”.  After reading Dance, I am now officially hooked on this new UF series – a phrase I didn’t think to find myself uttering anytime soon, not with the glut of urban fantasies flooding the market.

But the world of Alex Craft, grave witch, is just different enough to be refreshing and yes, although there’s the dreaded love triangle as implied in the back cover blurb below – I’m willing to sit back and watch Alex work through her tangled professional and love life.  I need to know what happens next…

Blurb:

Whoever said dead men tell no tales obviously never met Alex Craft.

After a month spent recovering from a vicious fight with a sorcerer, grave witch Alex Craft is ready to get back to solving murders by raising the dead. With her love life in turmoil thanks to the disappearance of Fae Investigation Bureau agent Falin Andrews and a shocking “L” word confession from Death himself, Alex is eager for the distractions of work. But her new case turns out to be a deadly challenge.

The police hire Alex to consult on a particularly strange investigation in the nature preserve south of Nekros City. The strange part: There are no corpses, only fragments of them. A serial killer is potentially on the loose, and Alex has no way to raise a shade without a body, so she’ll have to rely on the magic of others to find leads. But as she begins investigating, a creature born of the darkest magic comes after her. Someone very powerful wants to make sure the only thing she finds is a dead end—her own.

Out now (excerpt)

*

“Naked City: Tales of Urban Fantasy” edited by Ellen Datlow (urban fantasy): I have this love-hate thing with anthologies.  I get so ridiculously excited about the ideas, the themes, the contributors, and then I actually get my hands on the book, realise I need to be in the right mood for short stories, and the anthology ends up languishing half-read on my bedside table.

This one?  Yes, I’ve splurged on the hardcover and have read the Jim Butcher (whetted my appetite nicely for the next Harry Dresden), the Patricia Briggs (good, but sort of creepy), and the Delia Sherman (surprisingly delightful)… fingers crossed I make it through the whole book!

Blurb:

In this thrilling collection of original stories some of today’s hottest paranormal authors delight, thrill and captivate readers with otherworldly tales of magic and mischief. In Jim Butcher’s ”Curses” Harry Dresden investigates how to lift a curse laid by the Fair Folk on the Chicago Cubs. In Patricia Briggs’ “Fairy Gifts,” a vampire is called home by magic to save the Fae who freed him from a dark curse. In Melissa Marr’s “Guns for the Dead,” the newly dead Frankie Lee seeks a job in the afterlife on the wrong side of the law. In Holly Black’s “Noble Rot,” a dying rock star discovers that the young woman who brings him food every day has some strange appetites of her own.

Featuring original stories from 20 authors, this dark, captivating, fabulous and fantastical collection is sure to have readers coming back for more.

Out now

*

Kelley Armstrong‘s “Spell Bound” (urban fantasy): The penultimate book in Kelley Armstrong’s Otherworld series… it feels sort of funny writing that, because I’ve been faithfully buying her latest Otherworld  release every year ever since I stumbled upon her books years ago.  I’ve mixed feelings – I’ve grown fond of the Otherworld characters and will miss reading about them.  On the other hand, I’m glad that there is an End and this series isn’t going to meander on and on, losing that special something – unlike others I could name!

So, anyway, “Spellbound” is Savannah’s book (and I love Savannah) and oh, it had better be good after that cliffhanger ending in the last one…

Blurb:

Savannah Levine is in terrible danger, and for once she’s powerless to help herself. At the conclusion of Waking the Witch, Savannah swore that she would give up her powers if it would help a young girl. Little did she know that someone would take her up on that promise.

And now, witch hunting assassins, necromancers, half-demons, and rogue witches all seem to be after her. The threat is not just for Savannah; every member of the Otherworld might be at risk. While most of her fellow supernaturals are circling the wagons at a gathering of the council in Miami, Savannah is caught on the road, isolated from those who can protect her and unable to use her vast spell casting talent, the thing she counts on most. In a story that will change the shape of the Otherworld forever, Spell Bound gathers Elena, Clay, Paige, Lucas, Jaime, Hope, and others, who soon learn that the greatest threat to supernaturals just may come from within.

Out July 26 (book page on author’s site)

*

Jim Butcher‘s “Ghost Story” (urban fantasy): And finally the latest Harry Dresden (yes, I’m aware it’s an all UF new releases month for me).  So autobuy series, because you know, addictive storytelling.  I just wish he would crack the relationship element in his writing because everything works for me except for that.

Blurb:

When we last left the mighty wizard detective Harry Dresden, he wasn’t doing well. In fact, he had been murdered by an unknown assassin.

But being dead doesn’t stop him when his friends are in danger. Except now he has no body, and no magic to help him. And there are also several dark spirits roaming the Chicago shadows who owe Harry some payback of their own.

To save his friends — and his own soul — Harry will have to pull off the ultimate trick without any magic…

Out July 29 (excerpt)

15 Comments

Filed under Links & News

15 responses to “Books for July

  1. Hey Li :) Very nice list!! I had the Grave Witch series on my radar, till I read some reviews and learned about the love triangle. Now that you’re liking it, I have to say I’m tempted… but at the same time, I have so many books to read… and I have to say, I’m starting to burn out on UF a little bit ^_^;

    See, I get all confused about Naked City. I think both format HC and trade-size are available at the same time! In any case, I still haven’t bought it. I don’t know, I was kind of excited for Jim Butcher’s entry… but I flipped through it at the bookstore and it seems just too short ^_^; What is the Patricia Briggs about? :)

    I’m feeling the same as you about the Kelley Armstrong. The spark just isn’t there :( Which is really unfortunate. Perhaps if it was other characters. I’m glad though that it is the end for now and she’s keeping the possibility of writing books in this series when she feels like it :)

    Can’t wait for Dresden!! I want it NOW LOL.

    • I’m with you on the UF burnout, but I really liked GRAVE DANCE. And with the love triangle, I actually like both the potential love interests – I couldn’t decide myself! I hope it gets resolved soon though.

      And I did not know the NAKED CITY had a hardcover/trade option! The bookstore only had the hardcover. Oh well. It’s pretty. It’s a Daniel Dos Santos cover and it’s based on the Jim Butcher story. Though when I realised that, I thought Harry looked way too young on the cover. The Briggs story has a vampire I don’t remember – Thomas? None of her other Mercy characters made an appearance. I liked but wouldn’t buy just for that story.

      • Hmmm, wonder if I can find Grave Dance at the library… I think I’ll wait for you to read a few books and then, I’ll decide LOL.

        Harry does look a bit young on that cover. Especially comparing the image from the usual Dresden books. When does the novella takes place in the timeline? Before or after Changes?

        And no, Thomas… Doesn’t ring a bell.

      • Oh, do see if you can find it at the library – I’d love to hear what you think. I’m not seeing much buzz for this title (or more likely, I’m not hanging out in the right places ;-) ).

        The Harry Dresden short story is before Changes. Speaking of which, I just finished Ghost Story – have you??

  2. I am reading Spell Bound right now and it is pretty good so far!

  3. I didn’t realize Kelley Armstrong had planned an end to the Otherworld series! I feel the same way you do — I’ll be sad to see the series end, but it might give some nice focus to these last two books that the most recent ones in the series lacked. :)

  4. Hey Li ;)

    I’m not completely done with Ghost Story. Skimmed through most of the book though :) but from what I’ve read, it’s good!! What do you think of it? Email me :)

    • I finished Ghost Story in one sitting – was wondering the whole time how he was going to end it! Changes was very definitely a turning point in this series…

  5. I’ve been hearing a lot about Naked City. I’m a fan of Naomi Novik myself.

  6. Hi Li,
    Please forgive me for not stopping over here in a long time. The weirdest thing is that nine posts from you just popped up in my feeds today–I kind of thought you just weren’t posting much. I should have clicked over here to check. So sorry! But I’m catching up now!! ;)

    I hadn’t even heard of the Naked City anthology! It looks like it has a great line up of authors. I’m keeping my eye out for that one. Hope you enjoyed it. :)

    • Heh – you haven’t been missing much, I’ve not really been posting much recently! I liked the NAKED CITY stories I read, but am still working my way through the rest.

Leave a Reply

