Books for September

I can’t believe it’s officially autumn already.  And therefore time for new releases – a couple of much-anticipated sequels plus (unusually for me) two books by new-to-me authors that have piqued my curiosity…

*

Seanan McGuire‘s “One Salt Sea” (urban fantasy): You knew I was going to start off with this, surely?  I cannot wait to get my hands on the fifth Toby Daye book.  It seems like only yesterday I unexpectedly fell in love with Seanan McGuire’s addictive mix of Faerie and San Francisco – I’m glad Ms McGuire is such a prolific writer!

Blurb:

October “Toby” Daye is settling into her new role as Countess of Goldengreen. She’s actually dating again, and she’s taken on Quentin as her squire. So, of course, it’s time for things to take a turn for the worse.

Someone has kidnapped the sons of the regent of the Undersea Duchy of Saltmist. To prevent a war between land and sea, Toby must find the missing boys and prove the Queen of the Mists was not behind their abduction. Toby’s search will take her from the streets of San Francisco to the lands beneath the waves, and her deadline is firm: she must find the boys in three days’ time, or all of the Mists will pay the price. But someone is determined to stop her-and whoever it is isn’t playing by Oberon’s Laws…

Out Sept 6 (author’s website)

*

MJ Scott‘s “Shadow Kin” (dark fantasy): Here’s an interesting one – new-to-me (and debut?) author that I came across while perusing the September open thread at Dear Author.  I read the excerpt on the author’s website and was hooked – it certainly looks promising, I love the concept of wraiths and sunmages.  And you know, a cover blurb by Patricia Briggs

Blurb:

Imagine a city divided. On one side, the Night World ruled by the Blood Lords and the Beast Kin. On the other, the elusive Fae and the humans protected by their steadfast mages. A city held together by nothing more than a treaty-and even then, just barely…

I was born of a Fae mother, but I had no place among her kind. They called me soulless. An abomination. Perhaps they’re right…I am a wraith, a shadow who slips between worlds. I was given into the srevice of the Blood Lord Lucius, who raised me to be his most feared assassin. Still, I’m nothing more than a slave to my master and to the need that only he can fulfill…

Then Lucius orders me to kill Simon DuCaine, a powerful sunmage. In the blaze of Simon’s magic, my own disappears. Instead of seeking revenge, he shows me mercy. He wants to free me. But that’s one thing my master and his kind will never allow. And even if I thought I could trust Simon, stepping from the shadows into the light isn’t as simple as it sounds…

Out Sept 6 (excerpt)

*

Enthralled: Paranormal Diversions” edited by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong (YA urban fantasy): Apart from Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong, there’s a Sarah Rees Brennan story (total fangirl here), as well as some authors (Kami Garcia, Jessica Verday, Jackson Pearce) I’ve been meaning to read but have not quite gotten around to buying their books.  Which is one of the reasons I always convince myself to buy anthologies…

Blurb:

A journey may take hundreds of miles, or it may cover the distance between duty and desire.

Sixteen of today’s hottest writers of paranormal tales weave stories on a common theme of journeying. Authors such as Kelley Armstrong, Rachel Caine, and Melissa Marr return to the beloved worlds of their bestselling series, while others, like Claudia Gray, Kami Garcia, and Margaret Stohl, create new land-scapes and characters. But whether they’re writing about vampires, faeries, angels, or other magical beings, each author explores the strength and resilience of the human heart.

Suspenseful, funny, or romantic, the stories in Enthralled will leave you moved.

Out now

*

Rae Carson‘s “The Girl of Fire and Thorns” (YA fantasy): Second new-to-me author coming up – however, this time, I unfortunately can’t remember how this book landed on my radar.  I haven’t been reading as much straight fantasy as previous years (I think – I have been shamefully neglecting my list of books read so far, it’s on my to-do list!) so this appeals.  Anyway, cool title, even cooler back cover blurb… and cover blurb by Tamora Pierce (yes, I’m easy).

Blurb:

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.

Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who needs her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

Out Sept 20 (PDF excerpt)

*

Lee Child‘s “The Affair” (suspense): Lee Child’s Jack Reacher books are pure page-turning fun (though Tom Cruise as Reacher?  That is just plain wrong).  Anyway, the latest in the Reacher series is out end of this month, and it looks as though it’s one of the earlier ones, series chronological order-wise.  Not many authors tend to umm… skip around chronologically (Catherine Asaro does this rather well), and while I’m not keen on the fact that this means we don’t see further progression in the series arc, it’s usually interesting to revisit characters knowing what happens down the road for them.

Blurb:

In 1997, Reacher’s orders are: go undercover, keep your distance, monitor the investigation.

The local sheriff is Elizabeth Deveraux, a beautiful woman and an ex-Marine MP. She has all the skills she needs, but she’s making no progress. Why not? Is there a reason she doesn’t want the killer identified? And there’s constant pressure from the Pentagon, too. Shadowy figures from the world of politics want the killer unmasked—but only if he’s a civilian. Any other result would be a catastrophe.

Reacher and Deveraux can’t get near the base. There’s a shadow force in the woods, enforcing a quarantine zone around the fence. But side by side they piece together the evidence—and their partnership becomes more than professional. Eventually the army’s official investigation produces a cast-iron prime suspect—and so does Reacher’s undercover search.

But Reacher’s answer is not the same as the army’s.

If he keeps quiet, will he be able to live with himself? And if he speaks out, will the army be able to live with him?

Out Sept 29 (excerpt)

*

Stephanie Perkins‘ “Lola and the Boy Next Door” (YA): Last but definitely not least, the companion novel to “Anna and the French Kiss”, which you know, I loved.  Judging from the excerpt, Lola promises to be just as fun.

Blurb:

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit — more sparkly, more fun, more wild — the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket — a gifted inventor — steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Out Sept 29 (excerpt)

8 Comments

Filed under New Releases

8 responses to “Books for September

  1. I am curious about The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I have it on a list to check and see if the library has it, but haven’t got that far… I also will likely read Enthralled because I enjoy both Patricia Briggs and Melissa Marr.

    • I’ve started on ENTHRALLED – so far, so good! And I’ve been seeing some really good reviews on THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, am looking forward to checking it out.

  2. Hmmm, the blurb of the Seanan McGuire book sounds good. I wonder if it’d be a good place to start LOL.

    Shadow Kin is another book that caught my attention… but I don’t know if I should give it a try… I mean, so many other books in the TBR pile ^_^; I guess I’m going to wait for more reviews. Have you read it yet, Li?

    Sigh, another anthology. Grrrr. LOL. You know, I’ve fallen off the wagon with Kelley Armstrong ^_^; There was a time I was on top of everything, knew what she had coming out, would go to her website to read the online fiction. Now? I feel she’s spreading herself out too much. But that’s another story.

    I’m tempted by the Stephanie Perkins, because the heroine sounds like great fun indeed. But once again, we’ll see based on the reviews :)

    • Hey Nath – just finished ONE SALT SEA, and no, I don’t think it’s the best book to start with… I loved it though ;-)

      And no, haven’t read SHADOW KIN yet, though a sample is waiting on my Kindle.

      I didn’t really care for the Kelley Armstrong story in ENTHRALLED (it was with Chloe and Derek, and I’m not that into her YA trilogy), though the Sarah Rees Brennan story was fantastic.

  3. Li, interesting. I don’t usually read YA romance, but I pre-ordered “Lola and the Boy Next Door.” That book just looked good to me. It reminded me of romance books I read a long time ago and enjoyed. :)

    And Lee Child’s Jack Reacher! Wow… I haven’t kept up with that series for a while, but I love Jack!

  4. I think I want to read all of these books, too!!!

    Mm.. Shadow Kin sounds particularly appealing. And a cover blurb by Patricia Briggs? You don’t say….

Leave a Reply

