Very Short Thoughts

These July 2011 reads are a bit of a downer.  It was partly self-inflicted though.

Reviews cross-posted from Goodreads as always, additional comments in italics.

************

Hit List (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #20)Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton (paranormal romance)

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Ummm… not much to say here. Lots of repetition. I skimmed. I borrowed this from the library, which shows that at least I am learning. Slowly.

I know.  Serves me right, huh?

************

Smokin' SeventeenSmokin’ Seventeen by Janet Evanovich (mystery)

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

A bit of a forgettable read, this one – I’m glad I borrowed it from the library.

I am so glad I’ve managed to stop myself from buying the hardcover.  I think this book was sitting on the New Releases shelf as well – no reservations for this one. 

************

A Double DeceptionA Double Deception by Joan Wolf (regency romance)

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’ve a soft spot for Joan Wolf’s regencies – I liked this sweet romance, though it’s not one of her best. Familiar plot and familiar characters with an OTT villain – a quick and enjoyable read.

I liked this well enough when I read it, but am struggling to remember the plot now.  Good to know I’m showing some consistency with my ratings… I think this one is only if you’re a Joan Wolf fan.  Or like sweet regency romances.

************

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, #11)Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris (urban fantasy)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had low expectations coming into this book, having not really got on with the previous couple of books, and was pleasantly surprised – this was actually entertaining with a plot! I liked that Sookie wasn’t so much of a doormat in this book when her “friends” did stupid things. I’m hoping the next book shows us consequences of events in this. I’m also starting to wonder how Charlaine Harris will end this series – will there be an HEA, and if so, how…

The more we get in this series, the more doubtful I feel about everyone getting a happy ending in the end.  I’ve read Ms Harris’s other (mystery) series, and well, I don’t think she feels the need to give a HEA.  

************

Mind Games (The Disillusionists Trilogy, #1)

Mind Games by Carolyn Crane (urban fantasy)

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The cover is very much standard UF – the story is not. It’s UF with an unusual twist – I liked and will be picking up the other two in this trilogy.

Disclaimer: I’ve been reading Carolyn Crane’s blog (and have been a very occasional commenter) since her pre-publication days, and so may have been slightly biased here. I did buy MIND GAMES back when it was first released in 2010, but only got around to reading it last year (and mentioning it here another year later – good thing no one’s dependent on me for publicity!).

12 Comments

Filed under Reviews

12 responses to “Very Short Thoughts

  1. Kudos for you continuing with the Anita Blake series! I gave up on that one quite awhile ago.

    Sorry that July’s reads were so blah for you. :(

    • Oh, it got better! Second half to be posted next week.

      And yes, Anita Blake is a bad habit. Looking at this post, it’s sort of sad because I used to rush out and buy the latest LKH and Evanovich books – both series have really lost their way.

  2. Sorry you didn’t have a great reading month in July…

  3. Ouch, Li. Very brutal month of July ^_^;

    I stopped the Evanovich completely… and I don’t regret it. Seriously, I lost all respect for Stephanie, so what was the point?

    I definitively need to pick up Mind Games. Like you, I bought it back in 2010, but it’s been sitting in the TBR pile :(

  4. You know? I tried reading a couple of short stories by Charlaine Harris and she didn’t do it for me. I know she’s good, and maybe I need to read something new by her, something that’s not related to an OLD series? Recommendations?

    • I don’t think short stories are her strong point, especially the Sookie shorts she writes for anthologies. Having said that, her Sookie-verse short story (but with no Sookie), which I think was in the anthology NIGHT’S EDGE, is one that I’ve re-read a couple of times.

      I’ve read her non-paranormal mysteries too, and while she has a very readable voice, they’re not really ones I would recommend wholeheartedly – just a bit too bleak and grim for me. I think I would suggest you start with the first Sookie Stackhouse book DEAD UNTIL DERK? That hooked me way back when.

  5. Ouch! Too many unrewarding reads! I hope your more recent reading picks have been better.

    I started reading the Stephanie Plum books very late in the game.. maybe two years ago? I read the first three or four, I think, and I just didn’t get the appeal.

Leave a Reply

