Three Lists

Firstly, blogosphere events:

  • It’s not just Holly’s Seven Days for Sevenwaters taking place next week – the annual Book Bloggers Appreciation Week is on too (though it’s a more low-key version compared to previous years).  I haven’t participated in the past couple of years due to time pressures, but hopefully this time around, I’ll manage to join in on one of the daily blog topics.
    .
  • As a heads up, Bloggiesta is on for the weekend of Sept 28-30 (co-hosted by Danielle and Suey).  Sign-up post here, if you’re interested.  I took part in the April Bloggiesta, and it turned out to be a great way to do all those blog-type spring-cleaning tasks that I had been putting off for ages.  It was good fun because everyone was doing similar things, and also those mini-challenges were informative and useful.  And the peer pressure forced me to actually get things done ;-)  I’m not sure if I’ll have time to take part this time around, but am certainly considering it.

************

A couple of quick links:

************

And finally, a couple of recent reads – good ones too:

  • Seanan McGuire‘s ASHES OF HONOR: Definitely worth sacrificing some sleep for.  I have crazy love for this series, and this was a fantastic installment, especially since Tybalt takes centre stage in this one.  But even without Tybalt (though I veer close to sacrilege here), I enjoyed exploring so much more of this alternate world that Ms McGuire has dreamt up, and Toby’s relationships with her friends – and enemies – were just engrossing.  It left me wanting more.
    .
  • Tammara Webber‘s EASY: Everyone appears to have loved this one, which usually tends to have the effect of me waiting until the hype dies down.  But prompted by the news that Razorbill UK (Penguin’s teen line) will be publishing Tammara Webber’s books, I decided to check this out, and ended up really connecting with this college-set story. While the plot was perhaps a tad bit on the predictable side, I was won over by Jacqueline and the realistic yet mature way she dealt with the cards handed to her – and of course, there is some rather sizzling chemistry on the romance side of things.  I’m going to have to check out her Between the Lines books now.
5 Comments

Filed under Blogging Stuff, Links & News

5 responses to “Three Lists

  1. Ah, I’m happy you liked EASY, Li. I read it at just the right time. Looking forward to purchasing a paperback copy in the near future. :)

  2. Okay, so the last Bloggiesta was in April. Phew. I was wondering, because I thought it was not long ago… couldn’t have been a year yet! I know time flies, but not that fast!

    Glad you enjoyed Ashes of Honor. Always good when the book you’re looking forward to turns out to be a winner :) And Easy, everyone has been talking about it. Guess I really need to pick it up.

    • Ha – the summer has flown past, hasn’t it?

      ASHES was very much worth the wait and I would definitely rec EASY. I’ve just bought Tammara Webber’s BTL books now and will report back on whether they’re as good!

  3. Pingback: Hidden Treasures #bbaw | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

