Linkage for the Week

My post for Holly‘s Seven Days for Sevenwaters is up today – go read why I didn’t really think Juliet Marillier‘s books were for me (spoiler: I was so wrong).  Big thanks to Holly for organising the event and for letting me ramble in her space – I’ve really loved all the other posts this week.  Some were touching, others hilarious, but all heartfelt – plus a wonderful bonus: a post by Juliet Marillier herself offering up her version of Oscars for the series.

************

I had a bit of a dilemma this week when both Sarah Rees Brennan‘s UNSPOKEN and Meljean Brook’s RIVETED appeared simultaneously (well, almost – I think UNSPOKEN arrived a few seconds earlier) on my Kindle.  After much umm-ing and ahh-ing, I went for RIVETED (and then my Kindle promptly died, which is a story for another time – it is now working, so all is right with the world again).  But this is really a very roundabout way of telling you that although I haven’t yet read UNSPOKEN, there is another free Lynburn Legacy story available, which is making me very excited about actually starting on UNSPOKEN.

Also while on UNSPOKEN, I love this post about its cover so much.  It’s how I first heard about “cut-paper art” and I think Beth White (the cover artist) has incredible talent.

************

And speaking of covers (note the smooth segue), this Dear Author post about digital publishing and covers was fascinating.

In a way, covers are less important to me than they were a few years back, because I rely so much more on blog recommendations as opposed to random bookstore browsing.  And with the rise of self-publishing, I’ve stopped automatically associating poorly-designed covers with bad stories.  There could be a wonderful story lurking behind that horrible cover with Comic Sans font (I know, cover snob much?).

But there is something about a great cover that makes me happy (and yes, sometimes acts as a tipping point for a purchase) and it was really interesting having a bit more insight into cover design decisions, especially for digital-only editions.

************

I liked this review of Sharon Lee and Steve Miller‘s DRAGON SHIP by Liz Bourke at Tor.com, though I think she liked the book marginally more than I did.  Like her, I thought DRAGON SHIP was more of a bridging book, one that was setting up the next chapter to be told in this series, but I was left slightly unsatisfied by the number of plot threads still left dangling at the end of the book.  Having said that, it’s always nice to revisit the Liaden universe, so I’m glad that they’ve sold five (FIVE!!) new books in the series to Baen.  Happy times.

************

Finally, if you’re like me and avoid Facebook like the plague, but still want a way to keep up with the authors who post updates on their Facebook page, here’s what you need to get their Facebook RSS feed so you can read updates in your feed reader.  I just discovered this and it works like a dream.

There’s also a way to get the Twitter RSS feed into your feed reader – use this URL:

http://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/%5Busername%5D.rss

So if you want to follow my (not very exciting) Twitter feed without actually being on Twitter yourself – you would subscribe to this link:

http://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/meandmybooks.rss

That’s my technology tip of the day!

6 Comments

Filed under Links & News

6 responses to “Linkage for the Week

  1. Oh, I missed the week of Sevenwaters. How fun! Thanks for letting me know. :)

  2. I hear you about the covers, Li. Still, I think having a good cover is always going to be important, because it matters ;) Something that stands out – in a good way – and will make the book more memorable.

    So, how was Riveted?

    • I’m about a fifth of the way through – it’s good so far.

      A striking cover always helps (and you’re very right about it standing out in a GOOD way) but I don’t think it’s necessarily make-or-break, though one may argue it never was…

  3. Hmmm, I’m having difficulty getting into the story, sigh. I’m glad it’s going more smoothly for you :)

    • I liked it well enough – there were a couple of elements that really struck me (and I’ll hopefully post more about them soon-ish) but I didn’t love Annika/David as much as I have the previous couples.

Leave a Reply

