Kelly Hunter: Take 2

The last time I cross-posted my Goodreads reviews here, I was up to October 2011, which was my Kelly Hunter glom (ah, happy days).  I posted about the ridiculous good fun that was the Bennett Family series, but those five books were far from the only Hunter books I read last October.

Here are my two-sentence verdicts on the rest (with additional commentary in italics) – the next post will be about the non-Hunter books I did read last October, because despite appearances, they do exist.

************

Playboy Boss, Live-In MistressPlayboy Boss, Live-In Mistress by Kelly Hunter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve a soft spot for the friends-to-lovers romance trope, and we get the trademark Kelly Hunter humour in this one. Not my favourite Hunter (I think it felt a bit light, plot-wise), but still a good read.

I admit a year later, I only have a vague memory of the plot and characters, but I do remember liking the book at the time!  The story’s better than the title – this was obviously released during the period when you got bonus points for including words such as playboy and mistress in the title.

************

Flirting with IntentFlirting with Intent by Kelly Hunter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I liked the Hong Kong setting in this one and as always, the chemistry between the hero/heroine worked perfectly. I also liked how she played around with redemption/acceptance themes in this book.

I think this came out in North America fairly recently; I recall seeing a couple of reviews around – here’s the Dear Author one (a C grade).  It worked better for me.  

************

The Man She Loves To Hate (Presents Extra)The Man She Loves To Hate by Kelly Hunter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kelly Hunter’s characters are very three-dimensional – I was quickly rooting for Cole and Jolie to overcome the past and get their HEA. This romance had a small-town feel to it, which I also enjoyed.

I’m a sucker for romances where the hero/heroine have a past history, and this was one of them.  Also a fairly new Hunter, IIRC.

************

With This FlingWith This Fling by Kelly Hunter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Not a totally original plot device, but the what-happens-when-your-made-up-fiance-turns-up-in-the-flesh setup made me laugh.

I thought Charlotte and Grey played off each other very well, and liked the secondary characters.

I liked the humour in this one.

************

Exposed: Misbehaving with the MagnateExposed: Misbehaving with the Magnate by Kelly Hunter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I enjoyed Kelly Hunter’s take on this second-chance-at-romance story. Some angst and lots of crazy chemistry between the h/h made the relationship interesting, and I liked the unusual European vineyard setting.

I think this is being offered as a free read now (at Amazon, anyway) so would definitely recommend picking up!

I think you either love or hate these kind of romances – Rosario hated it ;-)  Err… I liked it, but I’d agree the setting felt less grounded in reality compared to other Hunters.

************

Revealed (Modern Heat)Revealed by Kelly Hunter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having read the first of the duology, Exposed: Misbehaving with the Magnate, I was looking forward to meeting Rafe, the brother of the heroine in EXPOSED. I probably sound like a broken record when it comes to Kelly Hunter’s books, but again, I loved the chemistry and the banter between the h/h – her writing never fails to make me smile. The big secret was possibly a bit OTT, but this is a M&B after all.

Angst a-plenty in this one, IIRC, which is obviously always a winner for me.

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “Kelly Hunter: Take 2

  1. Okay, so Kelly Hunter and the HP line? It has been a while since I read anything from HP… I will give at least one or two of these a shot. Thanks for the heads up, I’m always looking for category romance recommendations, and you and I seem to have similar tastes. :) (Revealed looks like a winner for me too!).

  2. She was the one that had me returning to category romance! Suggest you try the first in her Bennett series, Wife for a Week, if you’re looking for recs. That totally won me over.

  3. I’m going to check out some of these that I’ve not read :)

    Playboy Boss, Live-In Mistress wasn’t bad, but I was expecting more from Ms Hunter I think. Really liked Flirting with Intent and loved The Man She Loves to Hate. That one was good ;)

    • My only complaint is that I wish the titles were more meaningful – it’s hard to remember which is which!

      A sequel to FLIRTING WITH INTENT was released earlier this year, IIRC (or at least in the UK) – CRACKING THE DATING CODE? Not sure if I’ve put up a review yet, will have to look through my notes…

Leave a Reply

