Books for December

Yes, this post is late, but on purpose this time!  There just haven’t been many December new releases that I’m interested in, so I’ve been holding off in the hope that I’d come across a few more.  Unfortunately that hasn’t been the case, so here’s the list of December releases on my radar – I will admit I’m fairly lukewarm on a few.

*

13547361Sarah A Hoyt‘s DARKSHIP RENEGADES (SF): This is a follow-up to DARKSHIP THIEVES, an impulse borrow from my library a couple of years back and one I ended up liking very much.  I’m glad a sequel has finally been released, but my memory of the first book is somewhat hazy.  Also, this is published by Baen, so in theory, you should be able to purchase the e-version at both the Baen ebookstore or Amazon following their announcement last week.  I can see the price is now $8.99, as opposed to the original $6, so I’m assuming that’s gone through…

After rescuing her star pilot husband and discovering the dark secret of her own past on Earth, Athena Hera Sinistra returns to space habitat Eden to start life anew. Not happening. Thena and Kit are placed under arrest for the crime of coming back alive. The only escape from a death sentence: return to Earth and bring back the lost method for creating the Powertrees, the energy source of both Eden and Earth whose technological origins have been lost to war. But that mission is secondary to a greater imperative. Above all else, Thena must not get caught. If she does, then suicide is to be the only option.

With the odds heavily stacked against not only success, but survival, Thena comes to understand what her cynical accusers do not: it is not merely one woman’s life on the line anymore. For it’s on Earth where the adventure truly begins. Thena realizes that what is truly at stake is the fate of Eden and Earth alike, the continuance of the darkship fleet–and freedom for all in the Solar system–and beyond.

Out now (excerpt)

*

13589141ELEMENTAL MAGIC, edited by Mercedes Lackey (fantasy): December normally signals a new Valdemar anthology, but not this year – it’s the turn of Mercedes Lackey’s Elemental Masters series.  It’s the same concept as the Valdemar anthology – various authors (the usual suspects, plus a few others) contribute short stories set in Lackey’s world.  I always end up buying the Valdemar anthology, which tends to be a mixed bag (i.e. a couple I really like and the rest ranging from decent to mediocre), but then again, I have a soft spot for Valdemar stories in general.  I’m not as fond of her Elemental Masters books, but I suspect I’ll also end up buying this one.

Among Mercedes Lackey’s many novels, few are as critically acclaimed and beloved as those about the Elemental Masters. The novels in this series are loosely based on classic fairy tales, and take place in a fantasy version of turn-of-the-century London, where magic is real and Elemental Masters control the powers of Fire, Water, Air, and Earth. Now other authors join Mercedes Lackey to add their own special touches to this delightful alternate history, in a world where magic is always just around the corner…

Out now

*

1600621616007364Carina Press also has their Christmas (holiday?) anthologies out this month – the previous ones I’ve read have been good value for money, so I keep an eye out for them.  This year, their three anthology themes are contemporary romance (ROMANCING THE HOLIDAY), erotic romance (RED HOT HOLIDAY), and SF romance A GALACTIC HOLIDAY.  I’ve already bought the latter two based on generally positive reviews (and am especially excited about the SF one), and will probably get the contemporary one at some point.

Out now

*

13561603Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Connie Brockway‘s A LADY MOST WILLING (historical romance): This is a follow-up to the previous collaboration between the same authors, which I haven’t read yet, but I’m guessing these three authors should have put together a pretty fun and Christmassy read.

During their annual Christmas pilgrimage to Scotland to visit their aged uncle in his decrepit castle, the Comte de Rocheforte and his cousin, Earl of Oakley, are presented with unique gifts: their uncle has raided an English lord’s Christmas party and kidnapped four lovely would-be brides for his heirs to choose from… as well as one very angry duke, Lord Bretton. As snow isolates the castle, and as hours grow into days, the most honourable intentions give away to temptations as surprising as they are irresistible.

Out Dec 26 (excerpt)

9 Comments

Filed under New Releases

9 responses to “Books for December

  1. Kez

    I’m an infrequent lurker on your blog and I always enjoy finding new authors or books that I may not have considered myself.

    Anyway after reading your comment on the lack of releases in December it made me think of 2 indie series that have releases in December. If you haven’t already read them I think you would enjoy them…

    The first is Connie Suttle’s Blood Destiny series. Think of it as a vampire soapie…

    The second series in Laurence Dahners “Ell Donsaii” books. It’s one of the few sci fi series that does not revolve around a war of some sort…

    Neither of the series are great literary feats, but they both have an addictive quality to them that keeps you going back and eagerly buying the next book..

    • Thanks for commenting and for the recs – I’m all up for addictive ;-)

      I think I actually have the first of Connie Suttle’s series buried deep in my ebook TBR pile, so I will give that a go. I’ve scanned through the Kindle sample of Lauren Donsaii’s first Ell book, and that seems pretty good as well, so it looks as though I will have two new series to check out over the holidays!

  2. Li, the newest Essalieyan book – War – by Michelle West should arrive around New Years in hardcover (and expensive) ebook. But that would probably make it a January book, true. I preordered from Amazon so I don’t have to remember the date – I preorder all Jody Lee cover books from auto-buy authors (that’s mostly the Michelle West books anyway these days…)

    • Jody Lee covers always catch my eye as well! I am way behind in that series, though I’ve been on a fantasy binge recently so I may look to catch up (currently starting Patricia Wrede’s Lyra novels – bought the omnibus at Kobo when it was discounted recently).

  3. Bleh, Li! It’s going to be even worst come January!! I just made my list and it’s soooo depressing :( I’ve already seen the Eloisa James, Julia Quinn and Connie Brockway book in-store, but I’M waiting for reviews…

  4. By the way, Merry Christmas!

    • Merry Christmas to you too – I hope you had a good one! Yes, January’s list of new releases is a bit depressing as well, maybe we should look at it as an opportunity to work our way through that TBR pile…

  5. Hi Li! Merry Christmas to you! xo
    I’m really interested in reading A Lady Most Willing, but have read mixed reviews. The good news is that I see two local libraries got it in this week. Only now I probably won’t want to read it until NEXT December. ;)

Leave a Reply

