2012: The Summary

Happy New Year everyone!

Time for my annual reading recap in lists and numbers (here’s what I posted for 2011, if you want to take a peek).

*

My Very Favourite Books Read in 2012

Mainly fantasy and SF, with only one outside those genres – all of these books made it onto my keeper shelves.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Catherine Asaro‘s CARNELIANS (2012) – SF
    Totally delivered on the emotional satisfaction front for this long-time Skolian Empire reader
  • Andrea K Höst‘s MEDAIR duology (2010/11) – Fantasy
    This fantasy had it all: adventure, magic, and love (with a healthy dollop of angst), and a hold-your-breath kind of ending 
  • Andrea K Höst‘s TOUCHSTONE trilogy (2011) – YA SF (or science fantasy, arguably)
    Unputdownable trilogy (plus a very Gratuitious Epilogue)
  • Kristin Cashore‘s BITTERBLUE (2012) – YA fantasy
    Twisty and captivating coming-of-age story for Bitterblue
  • Diana Peterfreund‘s FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS (2012) – YA SF
    Intricately crafted and compelling re-interpretation of PERSUASION
  • Lois McMaster Bujold‘s CAPTAIN’s VORPARTRIL’S ALLIANCE (2012) – SF
    Wonderful madcap kind of adventure worthy of Miles at his best, but Ivan-style
  • Tanya Huff‘s THE SILVERED (2012) – Fantasy
    Standalone fantasy that left me wanting more. PLEASE.
  • Seanan McGuire‘s ASHES OF HONOR (2012) – Urban fantasy
    If you’re a Toby Daye reader, I dare you not to love this one. Each book just gets better, and swoon-y relationships aside, ASHES OF HONOR revealed so much more about Toby’s world and I’m dying to know what happens next. 
  • Juliet Marillier‘s FLAME OF SEVENWATERS (2012) – Fantasy
    I have so much love for these books – FLAME was such a fitting end for the Sevenwaters series. 
  • Tammara Webber‘s BETWEEN THE LINES (2011) – YA romance
    Most people appear to have gone for EASY as their favourite Webber; I’ll be the first to admit that BETWEEN THE LINES is somewhat fluffier, but I fell headlong for the romance in this one, and the positive portrayal of female friendships and surprise twists were a bonus.

Links to my reviews where available, I’ll update the links for the rest hopefully soon-ish.

*

New-to-me Authors that I’m Extremely Glad I’ve Read in 2012

Fantasy/SF

  • Andrea K Höst
  • Cassandra Rose Clarke
  • Daniel Abraham / James SA Corey
  • Ernest Cline
  • Garth Nix
  • Laini Taylor

Romance

  • Isabelle Holland
  • Miranda Kenneally
  • Shannon Stacey
  • Tammara Webber

Historical (for want of a better category!)

  • Elizabeth Wein

Here’s my 2012 new-to-me authors shelf on Goodreads, if you’re curious – I add the first book of theirs that I’ve read.

*

Author Most Glommed in 2012

It was a quiet glom because I don’t think I mentioned it much on the blog, but I ended up reading nine of Isabelle Holland‘s contemporary Gothics over 2012 (and have more on my TBR pile!).  Strong female leads, with brooding heroes and mysterious villains, all against a fascinating “past-contemporary” backdrop of the 70s.

Second most-read author for me was Andrea K Höst – five books, but including two omibuses, so technically eight books in all (or alternatively, her entire backlist).  I’ve probably bored all of you to death over 2012 with how much I’ve loved her refreshing take on fantasy and SF tropes so I won’t continue here – all I will say is her books have been the best discovery of the year for me.

*

The Statistics


2012 2011 2010 2009
# of books read 164 144 141 115
# published during current year 78 (48%) 73 (51%) 77 (55%) 55 (48%)
# of authors read 103 91 88 71
# of new-to-me authors 31 (30%) 26 (29%) 29 (33%) 22 (30%)
# of library books 28 (17%) 24 (17%) 20 (14%) n/a
space space space space space

Like last year, I’m amused by how (unintentionally) consistent my reading patterns have been over the years.  Although I read a lot more than in 2011 (that would be where the blogging time went!), the %s for new-to-me authors, new releases, and library loans have stayed remarkably similar to previous years.

I’m pleased that I’m still discovering new-to-me authors (as evidenced by the long list above) – and that probably explains the ratio of 2012 releases to pre-2012 ones, as I have a habit of glomming backlists if I’ve loved an author’s most recent work.

Also, I say this every year, but I really want to make better use of my local library.  I’m definitely borrowing more books than I was five years ago but the % could still be higher.  Instead of randomly browsing the shelves, I tend to make reservations for new-to-me authors that have caught my attention via blog mentions, which reduces my number of unread or DNF library books.

*

And finally, my graphical view of 2012 by month and genre:

2012

Rather than including YA as a separate genre as in previous years, this time I’ve included them in the other categories, which kind of makes sense to me.  If you’re wondering , 24 (or 15%) books fall in the YA (or MG) category.

The full list of my 2012 books is on my Goodreads Read in 2012 shelf (or will be, when I get around to listing all of them!).

So that’s it – it was a good year in 2012 reading-wise.  Here’s to 2013!

11 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

11 responses to “2012: The Summary

  1. I love your graphical representation, Li. And I do the same thing re: YA. It can be everything and so I assign them to the genre they belong to.

    I’m interested in the Isabelle Holland books. I like the idea of a “past-contemporary” setting.

    • You can always tell when I was on holiday ;-)

      I’m really enjoying the Hollands, though am pacing myself so they don’t start feeling too same-y. What comes through pretty strongly (fairly unconsciously, I think, though most of her heroines are of a liberal persuasion) are the American politics/culture of that era, it’s not something I’m familiar with at all, so it’s a fascinating backdrop.

  2. I was planning to read Seanan McGuire in 2012, but it didn’t happen… I also want to read some of the other books in your best of. I did read Bitterblue, though, and really enjoyed it!

  3. What a great post! I haven’t done a #’s post for last year and don’t know if I will at this point. :(

    I’m shocked that we don’t share ONE book this year! I have The Silvered by Tanya Huff in my TBR, but didn’t get to read it last year… one of those books I regret not reading. And from Tamara Webb, I have the much lauded Easy… And ooooh, you have a book up there by Catherine Asaro! I have an oldie by her in my TBR. Maybe I’ll read it for my SF Experience. :)

    Am definitely taking a look at Andrea Host since I’ve read absolutely nothing by her.

    • I hope you do check out Host – I loved her books (quite obviously).

      I’m looking at our non-overlapping lists as yet more great books to check out ;-) I didn’t read a lot of the books you listed, and I’m definitely planning on getting to them this year. I think we had more overlap in our honorable mentions – not that you would know as I didn’t list mine!

      I’ve a massive fan of Catherine Asaro’s Skolian series, but had a couple of false starts with the first books. I think it was a “it’s not you, it’s me” thing – maybe it was my mood or something, but it took a few books and some re-reads before I finally fell for the series.

  4. Seriously, while consistent, it’s still fun to see how your numbers have increased! Awesome!

    LOL at your list of best books as well. Indeed, fantasy and SF :) There’s a few in there that I want to check out. HOpefully, I’ll be able to do it soon :)

    • I hope you do! I feel as though I read a lot of fantasy this year, though it was probably balanced more equally between romance and fantasy. I didn’t really read much SF actually, but I obviously loved the few I did read.

  5. Pingback: My Auto-buy Authors: The 2013 Fantasy Edition | Me and My Books

  6. Pingback: Books for August | Me and My Books

  7. Pingback: 2013: The Summary | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

