Books for January

So we’ve just about hit the end of the post-Christmas/New Year period – I think this has to be my least favourite time of year (back to work after a long-ish break, no holidays to look forward to, etc etc), with the only bright spot being that the days are slowly getting longer.

And I have to say that my new releases list for January isn’t that long either.  In fact, if it wasn’t for Kelly Hunter, it would look incredibly depressing.  Talk about January blues.

*

17155520Kelly Hunter‘s THE TROUBLE WITH VALENTINE’S DAY (contemporary romance): This is an interesting experiment – it’s actually an expanded version of her first M&B romance, WIFE FOR A WEEK.  From her website:

[...] ‘The Trouble With Valentine’s’, which is my first ever published story (Wife for A Week) writ long – as in I’ve expanded it by 30,000 words. It’ll be released in Jan/Feb in the UK and Aus under the Mira imprint. [...] I love this story – it’s the first in the Bennett series – and the expansion explores more of the brothers, more of Jasmine and Kai (the secondary romance) and more of my favourite themes.

I was curious about this because WFAW was the book that kickstarted my Kelly Hunter glom, and despite my reservations about this being the same book recycled in new packaging, I caved and bought it.  I’ll be honest and say I probably wasn’t the ideal audience for this book – I was distracted by the fact it was WFAW II, and probably spent more time flipping between the two books to see what had been added or changed than actually reading the story itself.  If you’re curious, the Jasmine/Kai strand has been expanded significantly (and for the better, IMO), there are nods towards the fact this is being packaged as a Valentine’s Day romance, more mentions of Hallie’s brothers, and some additional scenes between Hallie and Nick.

I think when (because it will probably be when, not if) I do a re-read of this one, it’ll work much better because I’ll be focused on the actual story instead of wondering about the differences. If you haven’t read WFAW and are interested in starting this series, I’d recommend you pick up this version instead – it’s more expensive than a M&B as it’s been published under the Mira imprint, but you can probably get it off Kobo with a discount coupon.

The perfect Valentine’s gift?

As far as women’s fashion accessories went, he was spectacular. A black-haired, cobalt-eyed, dangerous- looking toy who no doubt warned you outright not to bother playing with him if you didn’t like his rules. He was like a Hermes handbag; women saw and women wanted, even though they knew the price was going to be astronomical.

Hallie Bennett likes a challenge, though – and his offer is tempting: $5,000 if she pretends to be his wife for a week. It might not be the most traditional Valentine’s Day proposal… but she’s hardly a traditional girl. Maybe a week in the high life, with a man to match, will be just the ticket. Just as long as she doesn’t start wishing the ‘I do’ is real…

Out now

*

15825773Kelly Hunter‘s THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY (contemporary romance): And then the Kelly Hunter that I’m really looking forward to – her debut for the new Harlequin KISS line in the US.  I’d have picked it up regardless of reviews, but I’ve already heard good buzz about this book and it had a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly.  It’s also the Dear Author book club pick for February.

Good job? Tick. Newly purchased apartment? Tick. Evie’s life is on a pretty even keel at the moment. The only thing missing? A man with an edge to keep things interesting. Enter Logan Black. Tortured, distant and sexy, Logan has edge written all over him. He’s also the man who tipped Evie over the edge a few years back – she gave him everything, but he didn’t know when to stop taking. Leaving Logan was the hardest thing Evie’s ever done. Until now. Because Logan’s back, the chemistry is as blistering as ever, and this time he’s not going anywhere…

Out January 22

*

15742820Julie Hyzy‘s FONDUING FATHERS (cosy mystery): And the last of the January new releases on my list (I did say it was short).  I’ve been following this series since the first book was released, and while I’ve had my ups and downs, the White House setting keeps me intrigued.  If you’re interested, Christina @ Babbling Book Reviews did a series spotlight that summarises all the books to date.

White House executive chef Olivia Paras has enough on her plate. But after gaining new information about her father’s death, the First Family isn’t the only family Olivia is concerned about.

Olivia has always believed that her father was an honorable man—until a trip to visit her mother reveals that he was dishonorably discharged from the army. Olivia is even more shocked to learn that he was brutally murdered because someone at his company suspected him of selling corporate secrets. Refusing to believe that her father was a scoundrel, Olivia won’t rest until she proves his innocence.

Enlisting the help of her boyfriend, Gav, Olivia must reach out to her father’s colleagues to discover the truth behind his murder. What she’s about to discover may not only put her at risk, but threaten national security as well…

Out now (author website)

11 Comments

Filed under New Releases

11 responses to “Books for January

  1. misscz

    I wondered about The Trouble with Valentine’s. She didn’t mention a N.A. release, so maybe it won’t make it to the USA. Oh well.
    I’ve ordered The One That Got Away. :)
    Thanks for the shout-out. :) I will be interested to see what you think of Fonduing Fathers.

    • I’m in the middle of FONDUING FATHERS at the moment – there’s a lot of Gav in this one!

      You may be able to get THE TROUBLE WITH VALENTINE’S directly from the Mills & Boons website – not sure if they support international buyers there though. I’m sure it’ll turn up in the US eventually, though probably under a different title ;-)

      • misscz

        Yeah, there is a lot of Gav this time. :D

        I’ll probably order Trouble from Amazon UK — like I did before with her earlier books.

      • The Book Depository also has it with free shipping, but the price is higher than Amazon, or at least it was for me (while I was there, I caved and pre-ordered THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY!)

  2. Goody, I was waiting for you to read the Kelly Hunter and give your impression ^^. Now I can buy with confidence.

    • I really hope that Kelly Hunter can deliver a better read for the Kiss line than the first freebie was – very competent author. Alphahole hero in the end. I really can do without that. But then they want to have alpha heroes for the 21st century in their description.

    • I have the first KISS book too (WAKING UP MARRIED, right?), but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.
      I’m still sort of in two minds about THE TROUBLE WITH VALENTINE’S, but I think that’s very much to do with the fact I wasn’t really immersed in the story, I was doing a comparison between the two (literally, I had WFAW open on my other Kindle as I was reading – talk about distracted). I’m pretty sure the rewritten book works seamlessly, but will have to re-read it at some point (I did spot a continuity error, but think it was in WFAW too!).

  3. I’ve just read The One That Got Away for review over on The Good, The Bad and the Unread. The only thing I didn’t like was the cover, and since Kelly Hunter probably had zilch input on that, it’s easily forgiveable. Honestly, it’s a goodie.

    • Oh, that is good to hear (especially as you so rarely say that!) – am looking forward to your review. I noticed that she did say the cover did not match the mood of the book at all, which is a shame.

  4. Ohhh, I missed the Kelly Hunter release for my list of new releases ^_^; Oups, but I’m definitively looking forward to it! Because as you said, talk about January Blues! Jeez, I think the publishers should revise their schedule so we don’t die of boredom, seriously.

    Interesting about The Trouble about Valentine’s Day. Since the book is longer, I guess the change of title was appropriate as well. It’s been so long since I’ve read this one, perhaps I should pick it up again… Hmmmm.

    I was interested in the White House setting as well for the Julie Hyzy series, but unfortunately, I never really got hooked to it, so I’m going to pass on that one.

    Well I guess it gives you time to read more from your TBR pile.

    • It has been a quiet December/January for new releases, hasn’t it? Or maybe it’s just us…

      If you do pick up the Kelly Hunter, let me know! I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts, especially since it’s been quite a while since you’ve read it and it may feel like a new book to you.

      Christina posted about another mystery series with a White House setting, so I’m going to give that a go soon.

Leave a Reply

