Books for January

I’ve not that many January new releases on my list of books to buy – I think that’s been true for previous years as well.  I suspect January is a quiet time for those authors/genres I like to read.

*

17938355Julie Hyzy‘s HOME OF THE BRAISED (cosy mystery): A new White House Chef mystery has signalled January to me for the past six or so years, and 2014 is no exception.  I’ve had both hits and misses with this series, but a new Ollie Paras book is always on my to-read list.

With the pressure of an upcoming state dinner that could make or break the president’s foreign policy, White House executive chef Olivia Paras has precious little time to focus on her wedding plans—or to catch a murderer….

Tensions are running high as the White House staff adjusts to a new chief usher and prepares for a high-stakes state dinner, where everything must be perfect. But as the date for the event approaches, things go disastrously wrong when the secretary of defense is found dead in his home, seemingly killed during a break-in.

At the same time Olivia’s fiancé, Gav, is looking into the mysterious murder of an old friend. Is there a connection? Despite an increase in security following the secretary’s death, Ollie learns the president is in imminent danger at the dinner and must do everything in her power to get to him—before it’s too late.

Out Jan 7

*

18074870KJ CharlesA CASE OF POSSESSION (m/m romance/fantasy): I wasn’t surprised to see KJ Charles’ debut novel THE MAGPIE LORD pop up on various Best of 2013 lists, and I’m glad the next book in the series is out so soon.

Lord Crane has never had a lover quite as elusive as Stephen Day. True, Stephen’s job as justiciar requires secrecy, but the magician’s disappearing act bothers Crane more than it should. When a blackmailer threatens to expose their illicit relationship, Crane knows a smart man would hop the first ship bound for China. But something unexpectedly stops him. His heart.

Stephen has problems of his own. As he investigates a plague of giant rats sweeping London, his sudden increase in power, boosted by his blood-and-sex bond with Crane, is rousing suspicion that he’s turned warlock. With all eyes watching him, the threat of exposure grows. Stephen could lose his friends, his job and his liberty over his relationship with Crane. He’s not sure if he can take that risk much longer. And Crane isn’t sure if he can ask him to.

The rats are closing in, and something has to give…

Warning: Contains m/m sex (on desks), blackmail, dark pasts, a domineering earl, a magician on the edge, vampire ghosts (possibly), and the giant rats of Sumatra.

Out Jan 28

*

Also, technically a February release, but Sharon Lee‘s CAROUSEL TIDES should be available from Baen midway through January.  I loved the first book, CAROUSEL SEA, and am looking forward to returning to her otherworldly Archers Beach.

Have I missed any of your January must-reads?

11 Comments

Filed under New Releases

11 responses to “Books for January

  1. LOL, well you know how my new releases list is ^_^;; Wayyyy longer than yours :)

    Indeed, a new Julie Hyzy seems to be marking a new year :) I always say that I should give these books another go. LOL.

    Hey Li, did you end up reading One & Only?

    • Well, I loved your new releases list – you highlighted some really interesting books! I realised I did forget Marko Kloos’s new release though (military SF) – will have to add.

      The Hyzy books are a bit uneven, but I do like the setting.

      Yep, I read ONE & ONLY – found the main conflict a bit repetitive (and annoyingly so) after a bit, but I did like the h/h and their chemistry, plus the premise turned out to be quite convincing. Haven’t yet updated GR, but it would probably be a 3/5 if that helps?

  2. Michelle Sagara West’s Touch, the follow up to Silence, is finally released today – a year later than hoped for because she decided the book just was not going where it had to go and started from scratch. Which reminds me that I wanted to check if it had already arrived at Kobo, it was preorderable at Amazon.com a while back. I’m doing a reread of the first one and I still really love the interactions of the friends, but have more of an insight into their parents (not that those show up much) this time, too.

  3. Jan

    I haven’t read the first KJ Charles book, but this book sounds so good I think I need to read the first one! I also haven’t read the cozy romance series, but since I live in the DC area now maybe I need to! And I do like relationships in my mysteries! I was going to ask you about Marko Kloos’ book, Li, but then read the comments…lol!

Leave a Reply

