Links!

It’s that sort of day. (ETA: It’s also the sort of day when I hit Publish by accident, so totally that sort of day.  Anyway, you get links with a wander down memory lane.)

************

night broken_front mech.inddA Patricia Briggs interview @ Confessions of an Opinionated Book Geek (love that title!), where she tackles the question as to why Mercy Thompson has no female friends. Patricia Briggs has obviously given it some thought… I’m not entirely sure whether I agree with some of the arguments she made (will have to ponder a bit more), but I love knowing Mercy’s close to her half-sisters (I didn’t know she had any!) and her college roommate (who gave her the tattoos).  Who knew?  (And NIGHT BROKEN releases Tuesday! I’m halfway through Seanan McGuire’s HALF-OFF RAGNAROK at the moment, but may have to put it to one side…)

************

I obviously haunt Courtney Milan‘s blog because she’s clever, articulate, and all of that – I found this post of hers about self-publishing v. traditional publishing really interesting. I have no interest in writing, but I find industry posts from the author’s perspective fascinating.

*************

Kind of random, but this post by Sherwood Smith @ Book View Cafe on everyday phrases that relate to anachronistic objects  (plus comments) made me think. It’s like the phrase “dial in” – I can’t remember the last time I used a phone with a rotary dial, but I still use the phrase every day, e.g. “Can you add a dial-in for that meeting as I’ll be working from home?”. And everyone knows what you mean!

************

And to round off, a little trip down memory lane…

Do you know what my first “proper” romance book was?  I don’t mean one of those Sweet Dreams books (anyone read those, by the way?) or a M&B/Harlequin (which I graduated to after running out of Sweet Dreams books).  I mean a full-length romance novel.

Not unexpected, as I’d always been hanging out in the SFF aisles, it was an SF romance.  I suspect it was mis-shelved, but it was a mis-shelving I took full advantage of…

584009The book was Justine Davis‘s THE SKYPIRATE (and yes, with that very cover – I know, I’m not quite sure how I got it past my mother either).

I loved it (as you may suspect, there were dashing sky-pirates, hidden identities, missing heirs, and equal amounts of angst and action), and it was the start of my romance reading career.  So very good memories – I’m pretty sure I read and re-read the book many times over, until poor Fabio (it is Fabio, right?) was practically separated from the rest of the book.

And guess what?

Justine Davis has announced she’s re-releasing THE SKYPIRATE and its prequel (which I never managed to track down), PLUS writing the long-awaited wrap up to the trilogy (because threads were left hanging…).  I am very very excited.

So – has anyone else out there read THE SKYPIRATE before (it’s a mid-1990s release according to Goodreads)?  And do you have equally good memories of your first “proper” romance novel?

14 Comments

Filed under Links & News

14 responses to “Links!

  1. Ok, thanks for that book view link. Made me smile thinking about it. Someone should make a long list (ie not me, I don’t have that much time, but would love to read one if someone did!)

    • It was interesting reading, wasn’t it? I was thinking about it a bit more, and that “dial-in” example I used? At some point, we’ll have interns or grads in our office who have never seen/used a rotary dial telephone before (yes, I’m feeling old) – I wonder if they’ll use that phrase as well or if they wonder what we’re on about!

  2. Dude. The hero’s name is Dax Silverbrake? O_O

  3. OMG! Califa Claxton and Dax Silverbrake! Those are memorable names, Li. :) I don’t believe that’s Fabio. The guy is too good looking, lol!

    I don’t remember the title of my first romance — it was in Spanish, a loooong time ago! But my first full-length novel in English was Sweet Savage Love by Rosemary Rogers! Yes, one of those old school sagas. :)

    I began reading Half-Off Ragnarok and am floundering with the beginning. I hope it gets better.

    • Ha – I was peering at the face and trying to decide! I think it was the hair that swayed it, but maybe they had all had those flowing locks in the 1990s.

      Oh gosh, those old school sagas. I think I read a fair few as well. Never Sweet Savage Love though – I’d like to think the title would have put me off… but probably not ;-)

      Am about halfway through the McGuire – it does get better (or at least, the pace has picked up), but was thinking that Alex’s voice is not really that different to Verity’s.

  4. Jan

    I read many of the old school romances a long time ago…really don’t remember which was my first one–probably something by Rosemary Rogers. Then I stopped reading romance for a long time. Only started again about 15 years ago. At that time Justine Davis’ Skypirate was on lots of people’s lists so whenever I was in a used bookstore I would look for it. I found it a few years ago, but when I tried to read it I couldn’t get past the names! It does bring back memories though…searching for old books and reading as much romance as I could!

    I’ll go check out the links you put up. They look interesting.

    • Okay, fingers crossed that the names don’t put me off the re-releases now! I think we’re spoilt somewhat with all these digital re-releases – (a very small) part of me misses the thrill of stumbling on one of those hard-to-find books in a bookstore.

      I don’t think I’ve ever stopped reading romance – I certainly read a lot less in the genre than I used to (at one point, historical/contemp romance probably made up 90% or more of what I read), but a strong romance subplot is usually present in most of the books I read regardless.

      • Jan

        Even though I’m not reading “romance” so much these days I do like a romance subplot in my fantasy or at least some good relationships or something to look forward to later in the series!

  5. Rosemary Elwell

    The first “real” romance I read (unless Barbara Cartland counts as “real”) was Kathleen Woodiwiss’ The Wolf and the Dove. Got me hooked on the whole genre.

    I read the prequel to The Skypirate first. After reading Lord of the Storm, of COURSE I had to read The Skypirate. You have no idea what I went through to find that book. I finally tracked down a copy via Barnes & Nobles, back when they had a network of used booksellers they worked with.

    Have you read her Hawk trilogy? I had the same difficulties in getting the first book of that series, after I had read the second two.

    I just finished rereading both Lord of the Storm and The Skypirate, and am moving on to the Hawk books as soon as I put on a load of laundry and feed the dogs their breakfast. I only hope I can put the book down sometime before 4:00 in the morning.

    • Another Justine Davis/Dare fan! I can identify with the attempts to find her books. I never got my hands on LORD OF THE STORM, though I was extremely curious about it – I gather she totally redeemed Califa in SKYPIRATE, so I’ve always wondered if my take on the Dax/Califa pairing would have changed had I read LORD OF THE STORM first.

      I remember reading Kathleen Woodiwiss too! I’m not entirely sure which ones I’ve read, but I looked up the description of THE WOLF AND THE DOVE, and I would not be surprised if it had been on my teenage shelves ;-)

      I’ve not read the HAWK books – I’m feeling very jealous you’ve paper copies of all of them! I just checked her website and it sounds as though they’re being re-released in e as well :-) I have some of her Silhouettes though, liked them (and it looks as though I’ve more to track down).

  6. Pingback: Books for June | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

