Books for May

Quite a few May new releases on my radar this month (though having read through my list, it sounds like I’m not 100% sold on any of them – I am, really!):

*

17666976Seanan McGuire‘s SPARROW HILL ROAD (fantasy):  I’m approaching this with slight caution, as her non-October Daye books have been a bit hit or miss for me, and I’m not a fan of ghost stories in general, but still, it is Seanan McGuire.  I’m expecting impressive world-building and a page-turning kind of story.

Rose Marshall died in 1952 in Buckley Township, Michigan, run off the road by a man named Bobby Cross—a man who had sold his soul to live forever, and intended to use her death to pay the price of his immortality. Trouble was, he didn’t ask Rose what she thought of the idea.

It’s been more than sixty years since that night, and she’s still sixteen, and she’s still running.

They have names for her all over the country: the Girl in the Diner. The Phantom Prom Date. The Girl in the Green Silk Gown. Mostly she just goes by “Rose,” a hitchhiking ghost girl with her thumb out and her eyes fixed on the horizon, trying to outrace a man who never sleeps, never stops, and never gives up on the idea of claiming what’s his. She’s the angel of the overpass, she’s the darling of the truck stops, and she’s going to figure out a way to win her freedom. After all, it’s not like it can kill her.

You can’t kill what’s already dead.

Out now

*

17936925Tammara Webber‘s BREAKABLE (NA romance): I’ve been on the fence about this retelling of EASY from Lucas’s POV – while I liked EASY well enough, I don’t really get different POV retellings (which appears to be a bit of a trend in the NA world – or am I generalising?).  But Tammara Webber is on that list of authors I stalk (not literally, and definitely not in a creepy way, I hasten to add) and I’m pretty sure Jane @ Dear Author tweeted this was a good one, so it’s on my Kindle.

He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.

As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.

All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…

As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat.

Out now

*

20309995Joanna ChambersENLIGHTENED (historical m/m romance): This is the last of the trilogy – the previous books have ended with HFNs, so a HEA is well overdue… I usually struggle with historical realities when it comes to m/m romance, but I’ve felt that Joanna Chambers has got just the right balance between portraying social constraints of the times and giving the reader a believable romance.  Plus previous books have been set in Edinburgh, a bit of a change to the more usual London.

Five months ago, David Lauriston was badly hurt helping his friend Elizabeth escape her violent husband. Since then, David has been living with his lover, Lord Murdo Balfour, while he recuperates.

Despite the pain of his injuries, David’s time with Murdo has been the happiest of his life. The only things that trouble him are Murdo’s occasional bouts of preoccupation, and the fact that one day soon, David will have to return to his legal practice in Edinburgh.

That day comes too soon when David’s friend and mentor takes to his deathbed, and David finds himself agreeing to take on a private mission in London. Murdo is at his side in the journey, but a shocking revelation by Murdo’s ruthless father leaves David questioning everything they’ve shared.

As tensions mount and the stakes grow higher, David and Murdo are forced to ask themselves how far they’re prepared to go—and how much they’re prepared to give up— to stay together. And whether there’s any chance of lasting happiness for men like them.

Out now

*

20738173Josh Lanyon‘s STRANGER ON THE SHORE (m/m romance/mystery): Josh Lanyon is an autobuy for me, especially with his more  recent infrequent release schedule, so I’ve already bought AND read this.  Unfortunately, it didn’t quite work for me – the romance certainly did, especially when the h/h were on-page together, but that didn’t really happen until later in the book.  The mystery… started off strong and fizzled out towards the end, plus there were elements that felt out of place.  Still a decent read, but probably not a one I’ll recommend for someone new to Lanyon.

Twenty years ago young Brian Arlington, heir to Arlington fortune, was kidnapped. Though the ransom was paid, the boy was never seen again and is presumed dead. Pierce Mather, the family lawyer, now administers and controls the Arlington billions. He’s none too happy, and more than a little suspicious, when investigative journalist Griffin Hadley shows up to write about the decades-old mystery. Griff shrugs off the coldly handsome Pierce’s objections, but it might not be so easy to shrug off the objections of someone willing to do anything to keep the past buried.

Out now

*

19486421Jim Butcher‘s SKIN GAME (UF): It’s hard to believe this is the 15th Dresden Files book, and the series is still going strong.  I’ve to say the major twist Jim Butcher introduced a few books back has made this series feel fresh again, so it’ll be interesting to see how Harry’s getting on in this one.

Harry Dresden, Chicago’s only professional wizard, is about to have a very bad day….

Because as Winter Knight to the Queen of Air and Darkness, Harry never knows what the scheming Mab might want him to do. Usually, it’s something awful.

He doesn’t know the half of it….

Mab has just traded Harry’s skills to pay off one of her debts. And now he must help a group of supernatural villains—led by one of Harry’s most dreaded and despised enemies, Nicodemus Archleone—to break into the highest-security vault in town so that they can then access the highest-security vault in the Nevernever.

It’s a smash-and-grab job to recover the literal Holy Grail from the vaults of the greatest treasure hoard in the supernatural world—which belongs to the one and only Hades, Lord of the freaking Underworld and generally unpleasant character. Worse, Dresden suspects that there is another game afoot that no one is talking about. And he’s dead certain that Nicodemus has no intention of allowing any of his crew to survive the experience. Especially Harry.

Dresden’s always been tricky, but he’s going to have to up his backstabbing game to survive this mess—assuming his own allies don’t end up killing him before his enemies get the chance…

Out May 27

*

16156357Richelle Mead‘s THE IMMORTAL CROWN (fantasy?): It’s fair to say I was very surprised to see the cover of this one – it’s quite a departure to the cover of the first book, and I’m wondering if the redesign is to attract more of Richelle Mead’s core YA UF audience.  Speculation aside, I reviewed the first Age of X book when it came out last year, and while it took me a while to get into the story, I was impressed by the ambitious world-building – it’ll be interesting to see how she develops it in this book.

In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA). Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills.

When Justin and Mae are assigned to work together to solve a string of ritualistic murders, they soon realize that their discoveries have exposed them to terrible danger. As their investigation races forward, unknown enemies and powers greater than they can imagine are gathering in the shadows, ready to reclaim the world in which humans are merely game pieces on their board.

Out May 29

*

Possibles:

 

7 Comments

Filed under New Releases

7 responses to “Books for May

  1. I still haven’t finished the Sookie series yet. Part of me is nostalgic for the early days and doesn’t want to see it end, and part of me is just plain tense it won’t be a satisfying conclusion.

    But I’m interested in your thoughts on the ends of her other series, since you mention you feel most of hers lose their way in the end. I’ve read the Lily Bard books and was sad when they were over. Loved Lily and Jack and Shakespeare. And I read the Harper Connolly ones. I know reader response to that series was all across the board. But I liked them.

    • Hey Angie – for me, the Sookie books ended in a good place, but I felt the series could have been wrapped up quite a few books earlier without losing anything.

      As for her other series – okay, I’ll concede I liked the Lily Bard books ;-) Aurora Teagarden – I thought everything kept on changing around (similar to how new reveals kept on coming about Sookie’s family which almost felt like rewriting history for the sake of a new plot – YMMV!). The Harper Connolly books just felt vaguely unsatisfying to me – I was never quite sure if it was actually meant to be a four-book series in the first place? I do agree everyone appeared to have a different opinion on them!

  2. Skin Game, Skin Game, Skin Game! The worst is I bet you once it’ll be out, I’ll get a reading block towards it. I just can feel it :( But that’s the book of the month for me :)

    I’m a bit torn about Sparrow Hill Road. Yes because it’s Seanan McGuire, but at the same time… Sigh.

    And LOL, aren’t we all shallow when it comes to covers?

    • LOL – I was thinking you’d be all over SKIN GAME! I’m not that excited about it yet, but I’m sure I’ll crack it open as soon as I get my hands on it.

      With SPARROW HILL ROAD, I think it was originally published online for free as a series of short stories, so I’m not entirely sure how it’ll read as a whole novel. But yeah, Seanan McGuire…

  3. I have Sparrow Hill Road and want to read it. But, I now understand that these are short stories that were put together into one book to make up Rose’s story, which also makes me a bit nervous. I initially thought this was a new series, and that’s a disappointment for me right there.

    I also purchased Stranger on the Shore by Lanyon and read it right away. It wasn’t a fantastic read for me either. For me, it was more of an average read with a few pluses here and there, but not what I was hoping for.

    PS: I haven’t read Joanna Chambers’ M/M romances because I’m SO picky about M/M historicals! I don’t usually like/read them unless they are set in certain eras, ie: during the World Wars, the Wild West. I don’t usually like Victorian, Edwardian, or Regency M/M historical romances. But, maybe I will give them a shot since I liked Chambers’ M/F books.

    • From Seanan McGuire’s recent post, I gather she has re-edited/written some of the older shorts – I’m guessing so it makes for a more cohesive flow? I’m with you though – I’ll definitely get it at some point, but not rushing out.

      Good to know I’m not alone with my thoughts on the Lanyon – I loved his previous Carina Press release, so this was a bit of a disappointment. I know he gets accused of repeating character types from book to book, but I’m starting to lean towards the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” argument!

      Hmm…. I’ve not read Joanna Chambers M/F (though suspect it may be in my TBR somewhere) so can’t comment. I do tend to avoid M/M historicals so I can’t really say how this one stacks up against the rest, but it was a solid trilogy IMO.

  4. Pingback: 2014 New Releases So Far… | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

