Around the Internet

Naomi Novik (of “Temeraire” fame) has posted a deleted scene from book four (yet untitled) on her LiveJournal (via SFBC).  I’d forgotten how completely adorable Temeraire is!  I’m so looking forward to this book coming out in autumn this year.  Ms Novik also has a couple of short stories up on her website, if you haven’t already seen them.

Sherwood Smith is a YA fantasy author (though her latest book, “Inda”, is not YA).  I’ve all her books, so it’s pretty obvious that I like her writing!  The first book of hers that I read was “Crown Duel”, an omnibus version of her “Crown & Court Duet” duology.  It’s a sword-and-sorcery fantasy, which reminds me somewhat of Sharon Shinn’s “Summers at Castle Auburn” – there’s a strong female protagonist and a sweet romance running through it.  My only quibble with Ms Smith’s books is that she likes to make up new words, when existing ones would work just as well without making you remember a new language!  Anyway, to get to the point, she has a short story up on the Coyote Wild speculative fiction website.  I haven’t read it yet, but it looks good!

Leave a Reply

