New Additions to My TBR Pile…

Right, four books arrived today – hurray!  Now, all I have to do is find the time to read them…

042521344701_aa_scmzzzzzzz_v60649605_.jpgBlood Lines by Eileen Wilks – Third book in Ms Wilks’ Lupi series – the first two books in this series (Tempting Danger and Mortal Danger) focused more on Lily Yu, an homicide cop turned FBI agent, and Rule Turner, a werewolf prince.  I’m excited because this book (based on the back cover blurb) has Cullen Seabourne playing a major part.  Cullen’s a werewolf sorcerer (okay, now there’s a phrase I never thought I’d type), who appears as a slightly shady and mysterious character in the first two books.  Which, of course, are the most interesting ones.  This book probably goes to the top of the my TBR pile. 

045122007201_aa_scmzzzzzzz_v37901437_.jpgThe Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason – This is Ms Gleason’s debut novel, which has been described as Buffy in the Regency era.  It’s the first book in what Ms Gleason has called the “Gardella Vampire Chronicles” – Victoria Gardella is a debutante who finds out about her family’s vampire-slayer legacy during her first Season.  I’m guessing this is a light read, and am looking forward to seeing how vampires fit into the Regency period!  On a side note, I love the cover – the corset, the stake and the red-orange theme (and I generally don’t like red covers).

045002154802_aa_scmzzzzzzz_.jpgGaudy Night by Dorothy L Sayers – For a complete change of pace, this is a mystery with strong romantic undertones (hopefully!).  I’ve all of Ms Sayers’ short story collections, plus Busman’s Honeymoon, which is the last in the Peter Wimsey series, and had Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane starting off their marriage with a dead body being found in the cellar of their new house.  I’m pretty sure that Gaudy Night is the one where Peter proposes to Harriet.  It’s set in Oxford in the 1930s, and Harriet is accused of murder.  It’s quite a long book – 564 pages – so I’ll probably be dipping in and out for the next week or so (unless of course, it hooks me completely).

009949349702_aa_scmzzzzzzz_v56603381_.jpgThe Private World of Georgette Heyer by Jane Aiken Hodge – Finally, a non-fiction book (and my first of the year).  This is a biography of Georgette Heyer.  It’s quite a slim book, but just a quick flip through shows that many of Ms Heyer’s novels are referenced – I therefore suspect that I’ll be re-reading many of my Heyers while reading this book.  I’m hoping that this book gives added context and background to my favourite Heyer books.

4 thoughts on “New Additions to My TBR Pile…

  1. Never fear, the romantic subplot in Gaudy Night IS very strong. And wonderful… I just think of one of the final scenes and go “ahhhhhhh”. You’ll know it when you get to it *g*

  2. Thank you for picking up my book! I hope you enjoy it!

    And I just wanted to mention that as much as I love, love, love Eliz Peters’ Amelia Peabody books (I think Crocodile on the Sandbank is such a perfect novel!), I adore her Vicky Bliss books even more.

    And I also must say that it’s delightful for me to find you listing my two all-time favorite authors in the same post/page: Peters/Michaels and Roberta Gellis! I love Gellis’s medieval historical romance Roselynde Chronicles, and all of the Peters/Michaels books.

  3. Hi Colleen – thanks for stopping by! Re The Rest Falls Away, I liked your heroine, Victoria, very much and I’m a sucker for tortured heroes, so obviously I fell for Sebastian 🙂 However, I thought Victoria was just a bit too modern for the Regency era, and a couple of things kept pulling me out of the story (having said that, I read your book straight after a Heyer reread – so it probably wasn’t the best-planned read!).

    Thanks for the Vicky Bliss rec and Roselynde Chronicles recs – I’ll have a look at them.

Leave a Reply

