Around the Web

I haven’t had much time to visit authors’ websites lately – but here’s the results of some site surfing today.

many_bloody_return_sm.jpg

Courtesy of Rachel Caine‘s website – the cover of a new anthology called “Many Bloody Returns”.  This will have short stories from authors including Charlaine Harris (a Sookie Stackhouse story), Kelley Armstrong  (I believe her contribution will be set in her Women in the Otherworld universe), Tanya Huff, and Jim Butcher

Ms Caine’s contribution is a Morganville Vampires story – which reminds me, the second book in this YA series, “Dead Girls’ Dance”, is coming out in April 2007 (and the third “Midnight Alley” in August 2007).  I reckon this series would appeal to the same people who liked Stephenie Meyer‘s “Twilight” (which I loved so much, btw, that I ordered the second book “New Moon” directly from the States, instead of waiting until the UK publication date of April this year).

Anyway, “Many Bloody Returns” is coming out in October 2007, but in hardcover – sigh.  I will probably shell out for this though… 

Ms Caine also has a new(-ish) story up on her website:   Witchgrave is a classic sword-and-sorcery fantasy tale – I like!

icecoldgrave.jpgOn Charlaine Harris‘ site, she’s posted the cover of the next Harper Connelly book “An Ice Cold Grave” (also out in October 2007).  I’m not sure if I’m going to get this in hardcover – I like Ms Harris’s writing, but I’m not really getting into this series. 

On a related note (and just for the heck of it), here’s three different cover versions of the first Harper Connelly book “Grave Sight” (from left to right, US, UK and large-print editions).  I think I prefer the US version – the UK version doesn’t quite capture the quirkiness of this series, and the large-print edition cover screams Horror, which it isn’t really.

042520568101_aa_scmzzzzzzz_.jpg     057507883901_aa_scmzzzzzzz_v47003547_.jpg      159722139201_aa_scmzzzzzzz_.jpg

Leave a Reply

