Recent Reads…

I haven’t been updating my blog recently – I’m going to try to do better… promise!

1845295641_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v43914457_.jpgApart from work stuff, I’ve been reading my latest book in Elizabeth Peters‘ Amelia Peabody series – the tenth book “The Ape who Guards the Balance”.  Yes, I know I’ve mentioned her in practically every single post recently, but I will stop once I’ve finished the series – only eight more books to go!  

Anyway, IMO, this was the best book so far in the series.  Not that I didn’t enjoy Ms Peters’ previous books, but I thought the characters in this book were really well-developed.  The humour is more evident right from the start, and we get to see some scenes from Ramses’ and Nefret’s perspectives, which adds an extra dimension to the story.  Apart from the mystery, Ramses is suffering from the pangs of unrequited love (though I do wonder if it is as unrequited as it seems…) and David has personal umm… troubles of his own.  There were a couple of scenes towards the end of the story which left me with a lump in my throat. 

I’ve had a look at Ms Peters’ website – the first book in this series was published in 1975, while the tenth book was published in 1998.  I’m not surprised as I can definitely see the changes in Ms Peters’ writing over the 23 years.  I’m also feeling lucky that I only discovered the series this year, because there are quite large gaps between each of the books, and waiting for the next book to come out would have driven me mad.  Heck, just waiting for Amazon to deliver the eleventh book in this series to me is driving me up the wall… I knew I should have gone to the bookstore to get it.

1423100034_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_.jpgThe other book I’ve just finished reading is Ally Carter‘s “I’ll Tell You I Love You, But Then I’ll Have to Kill You” – excerpt here.  This book will probably win the Longest Title of the Year award hands down!  It’s a YA novel about a girls’ boarding school… for spies.  Cammie Morgan attends the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, where classes just happen to include Covert Ops and Martial Arts.  While on a CoveOps class assignment, she meets Josh, who has no idea what her background is.  Take away the cool premise (Bat Cave-like classrooms and Bond-esque gadgets) and at its heart, this story is about falling in love for the first time.  It’s a light read, and I liked it – I’d be tempted to buy the next book in this series, due out Fall 2007.

Leave a Reply

