Why I’m Sleepy

I’m very very sleepy.  Two reasons:  Firstly, I just started my new job today, which is not something I’ve mentioned here before (I didn’t want to jinx anything!).  And for some reason, first days are always exhausting – I’m not sure why!  It went pretty well, though, and I’m excited about my new role.

The second reason is that I’ve been staying up too late reading Elizabeth Peters‘ Amelia Peabody books.  I’m almost done with the series – I’ve just started the umm… 15th book, I think, (“Children of the Storm”) and there are 18 books in the series (so far).  I’m completely in love with this series, as you probably can guess based on the fact I mention these books practically every time I post.  You know you have it bad when you *have* to finish the book, never mind it’s already midnight and you have to get up at 7.30am for your new job tomorrow!

“The Falcon at the Portal” and “He Shall Thunder in the Sky” were just perfect.  I was absolutely hooked on Ramses and Nefret’s love story.  At this point, I’m not really reading these books for the mystery, I’m reading them because of the characters and their relationships.  My only niggle is that I’m not loving Sennia – is it just me, or is she just a brat?  I think that once I finish the 18th book, I may have to go back and re-read the first few books and see if they read differently, now that I know how the story arc plays out.

In other (and completely unrelated) news, I received an email that Sharon Lee and Steve Miller‘s “Web of the Trident” has been “indefinitely delayed” even though Amazon and B&N.com are saying it has a March release date.  I’ve no idea what’s happening, but I suppose it means I get to err… re-allocate my book budget this month (I was going to say I get to save some money, but that’s not going to happen!).

If you haven’t read any of their Korval books yet, they are being released as e-book bundles at Baen Webscriptions.  And if you’re curious about their writing style, they’re serialising a new story online, set in the same universe.  I’ve only read the first couple of chapters (as I’ve been madly busy doing real-world stuff), so can’t really comment on it yet, but I certainly plan to sit down and read it properly one day.  I’m a big fan of their Korval books – it’s proper space opera (their Liaden society, in particular, has a really intricate dance of manners – it’s been called Heyer in space).

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Sleepy

Leave a Reply

