Housekeeping…

I’ve just updated my TBR Pile and Books Read During March lists on this blog, and realised that my March reading may have been affected by my Amelia Peabody glom.  You know how sometimes, a book you would normally enjoy just doesn’t work, because you subconsciously (or otherwise) want to read something else?  I’m pretty sure someone blogged about this the other day, but I can’t find the post now.

So for instance, when I fell in love with Lois McMaster Bujold‘s Vorkosigan series (SF with strong romance), the next few books I read just didn’t do it.  Heck, even Ms Bujold’s latest fantasy “The Sharing Knife: Beguilement” didn’t quite work for me – probably because it didn’t have Miles in it!  I need to go back and re-read it, just to see if I feel differently about it now.

So now, all I want to do is read Amelia Peabody, so I think I’m more, well, lukewarm to the other books I’m reading this month.  Gah.  Oh well, three more Peabody books, and then perhaps something err… cleansing before I read the other books I’ve been looking forward to.

As an aside (but sort of related), if you’re into Vorkosigan fanfiction, the sequel to “A Deeper Season”, which set up an alternate universe, has been posted recently – it’s called “What Passing Bells”.  [Warning: it’s Gregor/Miles slash, so don’t click if you’re not into that – or if you don’t want to picture anything except the canon universe!]  I really like these stories – I think the two co-authors have captured the right tone and voice.  There are some (but very few) jarring notes in the first story, and almost none in the sequel (or at least to me).  There will be another Bujold Vorkosigan book coming out, but I think only in 2008/9 and not in the near future.

Leave a Reply

