Mid-Week Update

0060898917_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v44246480_.jpgAmazon has finally got hold of Vicki Pettersson‘s “The Scent of Shadows” – hurray!  I’ve been hearing very good things about this book, so am looking forward to reading it – let’s hope Royal Mail doesn’t lose it now…

Interesting cover – the front-cover blurbs placed very prominently are from Diana Gabaldon and Kim Harrison.  The blurb for the second book “The Taste of Night” (out now) is from Charlaine Harris.  Kim Harrison and Charlaine Harris I can understand, but Diana Gabaldon?   Don’t get me wrong – I love Jamie and Claire, but I’m surprised they’ve used her to blurb an urban fantasy.  Maybe it’s the big-name factor the publisher’s going for.

First chapter excerpt is up on her website.

And as for what I’m currently reading, it’s the “Dragon Lovers” anthology – I’ve read Jo Beverley‘s and Mary Jo Putney‘s stories so far, and unfortunately have not loved them. 

Ms Beverley’s story lost me from the start, with the SVP (Sacrificial Virgin Princess) wanting to lose her V.  I got confused between the different uses between dragon eyes and mother stones – one prevents pregnancy while the other allows someone to get pregnant?  Nope, couldn’t remember and didn’t care.  And dragon drool features rather heavily as an aphrodisiac.  Eewww.  This was meant to be a light-hearted story, but the humour and the tone didn’t work for me at all.  I love her historicals, but this short story was no more than a C- for me.

Ms Putney’s story was better, and had a knight setting out to slay a dragon who was setting villages afire.  Unfortunately, all the cliches about peace-loving dragons, etc., etc., came into play, and I saw the twist from a mile away.  A C+ for this one.

Ahhh – I just don’t think I’m a short story person…

One thought on “Mid-Week Update

  1. Pingback: Me and my books

Leave a Reply

