Books, Books and More Books

Well, Amazon appears to have got its act together, and has been flooding my mailbox with books I ordered back in January.  I also stopped by the bookstore (before the Amazon parcels started arriving on a daily basis), so I do have plenty to read – errr… 27 books to be exact.

New books in my TBR pile:

The Dead Girls’ Dance (Rachel Caine) – YA paranormal.  Second in Rachel Caine’s YA series (she also writes the Weather Warden books) – the first book sort of ended on a cliffhanger, which, unfortunately, is becoming all too common in her books.  I do think she’s got a knack for coming up with unique ideas, her heroines are very likeable and her male characters completely yummy, but I’m really starting to dislike the way she ends her books.  So I’m hoping that this book doesn’t continue the trend…

0060833254_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v44251814_.jpgWarrior Angel (Margaret and Lizz Weis) – Paranormal romance.  I ordered this online as soon as I heard Margaret Weis was writing a paranormal romance.  I loved her SF and fantasy books, especially the “The Star of the Guardians” SF series, which had the most bittersweet romance ever, the related “Mag Force” trilogy (actually, I really wish she would write more stories in that universe), and on the fantasy front, “The Rose of the Prophet” series, which she co-wrote with Tracy Hickman…  And then I read the online reviews for this book and now I’m not too excited about reading this.  Sigh.

The Scent of Shadows (Vicki Pettersson) – Urban fantasy.  As I said in my last post, this book has been generating good buzz online, and I’m looking forward to reading this.  Since the tagline is “The First Sign of the Zodiac”, I’m guessing that there are twelve books planned for this series?

Coupon Girl (Becky Motew) – Chick-lit, I’m thinking, based on the cover and blurb.  Huh.  This is one of the books I ordered back in Jan, and now have no idea where or how I heard of it.

1841493996_02__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v46734812_.jpgFool Moon (Jim Butcher) – Urban fantasy, second in the Dresden Files series.  I read the first book “Storm Front”, but it didn’t really grab me.  After reading and loving his Codex Alera fantasy books, I decided to give this series another go.  I think the problem with the first book was that I didn’t really connect with the main character, Harry Dresden (Chicago’s first (and only) wizard private investigator), which is not good, especially if the story is written in first-person POV.

Command Decision (Elizabeth Moon) – Military SF, fourth in the Vatta’s War series.  I’ve read the first three books in this series, and I like them enough to buy the fourth (rather obviously).  I like Ms Moon’s books, but I don’t love them – again, possibly due to the fact I don’t love her characters.  They’re very readable though, and a decent way to spend an afternoon.

0441014895_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_v45599629_.jpgMagic Bites (Ilona Andrews) – Urban fantasy.  This is her debut novel (or rather their debut novel?  I think it’s a husband-and-wife team).  I bought this due to online reviews and err… the cover.  I’m a sucker for covers. 

Disappearing Act (Margaret Ball) – SF.  This was a complete impulse buy in the bookstore – I was looking for another author, saw the cover (one of Baen’s SF-ish ones) and, well, I like Lois McMaster Bujold’s books (okay, I love her Vorkosigan books) and they’re published by Baen as well, as is Catherine Asaro… so I grabbed it.  Talk about tenuous connections.  And as if I don’t have enough books to read already…

And as to what I’m reading now – I used to be the kind of person who only ever read one book at the time.  For some reason, that’s now gone out of the window, and what I read appears to be dependent on whatever book is in the room where I am.  Unless it’s a really good book, in which case I finish it in one sitting!

So books that I’m reading:

  • I’m a couple of chapters into “Magic Bites”, but it hasn’t really grabbed my attention. 
  • I’m also a couple of chapters into “Fool Moon”, which I’ll probably finish before “Magic Bites”.
  • I read the first chapter of “The Dead Girls’ Dance” last night, but I’m not in the mood for teenage angst at the moment, so it’s being put aside for now.
  • I started Elizabeth Hoyt’s “The Raven Prince” the other night, but fell asleep, and I suspect this will be a book I’ll finish in one go, so I’m waiting until I’ve a good long period of free time to start it again – maybe tonight!
  • And I’ve two more stories left in the “Dragon Lovers” anthology, which I’ve found slightly disappointing, as I said the other day.  I’m not sure when I’ll return to it…

So really, five books on the go at the moment.  Hmmm… it’s probably also dependent on my mood, and I’m lucky because I’ve so many books that I can pick and choose exactly what I want to read!

Leave a Reply

