Around the Web

Eloisa James has posted an excerpt of her upcoming book “Desperate Duchesses” (May 2007) on her website.  I believe this book starts off a series of three books.  The excerpt reads as though it will very much be an ensemble story, and will set up the background of all the other main characters in her series.  I loved Ms James’ Essex Sisters series, so this is on my must-buy list for May.

Mills & Boon (Harlequin in the UK) is planning to distribute their books via text messages.  Errr…. okay.  Somehow I don’t see myself reading an M&B book on my mobile, where I can see maybe thirty words at a time on my screen.  Apparently it’s big in Japan.  Anyway, while trying to find out more about this, I went to the M&B website, where, nope, there was nothing on this initiative, BUT I found out that you can actually read online novels for free.  I skimmed through one, and I think it’s a pared-down version of the print book, but still – a large publisher offering free tasters?  Excellent. 

Oh, and if you haven’t already been, Baen’s Free Library has free SF/F downloads as well – it’s a good way of testing the waters and finding new authors.  I recommend Lois McMaster Bujold‘s short story “Mountains of Mourning”, which is set in her Vorkosigan universe.  I also remember liking Mercedes Lackey‘s fantasy book “The Lark and the Wren” (start of her Bardic Voices series).

Leave a Reply

