Since I haven’t mentioned Elizabeth Peters in a while…

In Elizabeth Peters‘ latest newsletter (PDF file), she says that she has a contract for another Amelia Peabody, once she finishes writing the Vicky Bliss book she’s currently working on *happy dance*

I’ve now read the first four Vicky Bliss books, and am trying to track down the fifth book “Night Train to Memphis”.  Unfortunately, it seems to be out-of-print, though a UK publisher appears to be republishing the Vicky Bliss series, so fingers crossed that they’ll get round to it soon!

I didn’t really fall in love with the first couple of Vicky Bliss books – I think, on the whole, Ms Peters’ earlier books lack a certain something.  I felt the same way when I read “Crocodile on the Sandbank”, the first book in the Amelia Peabody series.  I’m not sure what’s missing, it’s quite hard to put it into words (that’ll be why I’m a reader, not a writer).  It’s an emotional thing – I don’t feel the characters as strongly, I suppose.  That’s the nearest I can get at the moment.  They’re still good stories, but they’re not great ones, if that makes sense.

But I absolutely love her later books, and I read “Trojan Gold” (the fourth book, published in 1987) in a single sitting – obviously, it helps that I’m a sucker for romance.  So now I want the fifth Vicky Bliss…

11 thoughts on “Since I haven’t mentioned Elizabeth Peters in a while…

  1. I am reading the first Vicky Bliss book now, having already read the second one! I agree that whilst it is enjoyable, it’s not as good as some of the other Peters books I have read.

  2. Maybe it’s because I’m not that interested in art history – having said that, I had absolutely no interest in Egypt before reading the Peabody books!

  3. OMG. I am the biggest fan of Barbara Michaels. I wish she would start writing under that name again! I have some of her Elizabeth Peters but haven’t read them yet. Here’s hoping they’re as good but I know it won’t be the same, simply b/c I enjoyed the gothic/mystery/old house stuff covered under her Michaels name so much.

  4. I haven’t actually yet read a Barbara Michaels yet – someone posted a few recs the other day and I’ve got “Be Buried in the Rain” on order at the mo.

    I just read “The Love Talker” (standalone EP), really liked it and thought it had gothic overtones. If that’s what her BM books are like, I’m definitely going to track them down.

  5. She’s very good, I’m trying to figure out the best one by her. Hmm. I get books confused, even if I love them. There’s something about her stuff that’s great. How about I finally try the Peters and you finally try the Michaels? LOL

    As for the ardeur, I love when people agree with me. The world’s worst plot device – ever. I never liked it, no matter which book it’s been in. I remember ranting from the start saying I hoped it wasn’t in the next book 😦

    As for Agatha Christie, I’m in the boat you started with. Love Poirot right now and wasn’t crazy on Marple with the two I’ve read with her. Oh well opinions change like underwear, right?

  6. LOL – the only Christies I really don’t like are the ones with the woman novelist as the main detective. I can’t remember her name now, but she features in the Poirot books as well.

    I will try the Barbara Michaels books, but you then have to read the EP ones 😉 Especially the Amelia Peabody books – I just *love* that series.

  7. Deal. I have a Peters waiting to be read, I should get to it soon. My TBR pile is massive, I think I could have a mini bookshelf out of those alone.

  8. Night Train to Memphis is my favorite Peters book. I hope you got a chance to read it by now. Even if you didn’t, you’re lucky you have it waiting for you to enjoy someday!

  9. Pick up Night Train to Mephis as soon as it is republished in the uk! It is – by far – my favourite of the Elizabeth Peters books and one I keep coming back to again and again. On the plus side you will also have a shorter wait for the new Vicki Bliss as 13 years has been a bit of a long wait!

  10. Hey Michelle – trust me, I’m keeping an eye on those shelves 🙂 I’ve seen the new versions of the first few Vicky Bliss books, so am hoping I don’t have to wait much longer!

Leave a Reply

