New Books

You know the saying about waiting forever for a bus and then three come along at once?  Or something like.  Anyway, for the past couple of weeks, while I wouldn’t exactly say that I’ve run out of books to read, none of the books in my TBR pile appealed to me. 

And then today, my latest Amazon parcel arrived.  Hurrah!  This is a long-delayed delivery – the estimated delivery date was for the beginning of the month, and I’ve no idea why it took so long to arrive. 

Here’s what was in the parcel:

Jacqueline Carey‘s “Kushiel’s Justice” – this was on the list of books I was going to buy back in June.  Hmmm… looking at that list, I still haven’t gotten hold of the Julia Quinn book or the Lois McMaster Bujold one.

21qjehhpghl__aa_sl160_.jpgAnd Kelley Armstrong‘s “Exit Strategy” – the first in her new series.  The main character is a contract killer for a Mafia family, so rather different to her long-running Otherworld series.  It’ll be interesting to see how it compares to the Otherworld books as there are no paranormal elements in these books.

Also Elizabeth Peters‘ “Devil May Care”, which I got as part of my quest to finish her backlist.  It sounds like a classic Peters book based on the backcover blurb – a young heroine, an eccentric aunt, and a haunted house…

Errr… a children’s book by John Flanagan, “The Burning Bridge” – I don’t even have the excuse of saying it’s a YA book because it’s not really YA.  Yes, I read children’s books.  This is the second in a fantasy series about a boy called Will, who’s been apprenticed into the Rangers, a sort of scout-cum-spy group for the King of Araluen.  “The Ruins of Gorlan” is the first book, and while the “Ranger’s Apprentice” series is aimed squarely at the younger reader, it’s still a fun read for me!

21mya2utbyl__aa_sl160_.jpgAnd an impulse buy, Camille Bacon-Smith‘s “Daemon Eyes”.  My impulse buys obviously aren’t limited to bookstore browsing.  This was an Amazon rec, i.e. you might like this because you previously bought X.  I can’t remember the exact reason Amazon gave for recommending it now, but seeing that the story is about an investigation agency for occult cases, I’m not too surprised it was rec’d to me!  It’s a two-in-one omnibus, with the two books originally published in 1996 and 1998, so way before the current trend for paranormal books, actually. 

I’m so spoilt for choice – I’ve no idea what I’m going to read first.  If only all my dilemmas were like this 😀

PS:  Yes, I know I’ve been tagged for a couple of things – the Rockin’ Girl Blogger by Erin, and the Blogging Meme by Kailana at Twisted Kingdom.  I’m not ignoring you – I need time to think about them!

2 thoughts on “New Books

Leave a Reply

