Around the Web

Suzanne Brockmann‘s posted an “Extras” booklet for her Force of Nature book (August 2007) – scroll to the bottom of the page to download.  Warning – it’s approx 28 MB in size, so watch out if you’ve a slow Internet connection.  It has a brand-new Sam and Alyssa short story (with Jules), plus an POV article for writers.  

I decided to try reading it using Adobe Digital Editions, which I downloaded the other day, and realised the major downside of its slick black background is that it shows up all the smudges on my laptop screen in bright sunlight.  Bah.

Naomi Novik‘s posted an excerpt from her upcoming Temeraire book “Empire of Ivory” (September 2007) on her website.  Just reading the first few sentences reminds me of how much I’m looking forward to it.

Here’s a rather long interview with Stephenie Meyer (via Locus Online Blinks) – she doesn’t give anything away on “Eclipse” (out August 2007), but it’s an interesting read if you’re a fan.  The next JK Rowling?

5 thoughts on “Around the Web

  1. The next JK Rowling? That’s what I thought, too. My local bookstore will be having a midnight party for her next release which I can’t wait to read. Have you read the books yet?

  2. Yes, I loved the first, and liked the second though it was ever-so-slightly “over-angsty”. I’m very much looking forward to Eclipse!

    I think the main difference between these books and Harry Potter is that the Bella and Edward books are romance, while HP isn’t. So that limits the majority of Stephenie Meyer’s audience to females – though they’re probably just as obsessed with her books as HP fans are with Rowling’s.

    I think it’s her voice; her writing just pulls you in. I don’t have Twilight/New Moon with me right now, but I remember reading about Edward and completely falling for him 🙂

  3. Also, she did Edward’s POV in Midnight Sun which is on her website. You need to read it if you haven’t already. I agree with you, it’s her voice. Very captivating and I hope she gets to publish Midnight Sun so it can sit right next to Twilight. I planned my vacation around the release dates of both Eclipse and The Mirador by Monette which I should be getting Friday and posting my reviews of them both as soon as I can.

  4. I did read Midnight Sun – it was v interesting to read Edward’s POV and yes, I hope she expands it into a full-length book.

    August is actually a very good month for books; at last count, there are eight books coming out that I want to read! You’ll probably get both Eclipse and The Mirador before me – will be keen to hear what you think of them.

Leave a Reply

