Books for August

August is a good month for books – books I want:

21x6agburdl__aa_sl160_.jpgStephenie Meyer‘s “Eclipse”: Third book in her YA vampire series.  I love Bella and I *love* Edward.  “Twilight” and “New Moon” are the first and second books in this series respectively – if you haven’t read them, go and try “Twilight” at least.  Even if you don’t do YA and hate vampires.  Really.  “Eclipse” excerpt here.

21kbd5cz2yl__aa_sl160_.jpgRachel Caine‘s “Thin Air”: Sixth book in her Weather Wardens series.  Right, the first book “Ill Wind” completely captivated me – people with the power to control weather, a secret group of weather wardens who work to avert natural disasters, and a very cute and yummy Djinn called David.  It was a great start to the series, and then… arrrgghhh.  I really really hate non-conclusive endings, and that’s how most of the later books have ended – with a major plot twist or reveal in the last few pages.  I’m going to get “Thin Air” because it’s meant to wrap up loose threads from the previous books.  And then I’m going to see how it ends, because I’m not 100% sure I want to continue with this series.  I love Ms Caine’s writing, but I just don’t like her plots.  Sigh.  Excerpt here.

Staying with the fantasy books, Gail Dayton‘s “The Eternal Rose”: The third in a trilogy.  The first two books in this series was published by Luna, but they decided not to continue with the series.  Thankfully, it was picked up by Juno.  While it’s not ground-breaking fantasy by any means, it’s an enjoyable and fast-paced fantasy series.  Err… alternative lifestyle warning:  There is polygamy in a sense here; Kallista, the lead female character is “married” to about five others (both male and female).  

21z8dijkull__aa_sl160_.jpgAn anthology with some of my favourite authors – “On the Prowl” (Patricia Briggs, Eileen Wilks, Karen Chance, and Sunny).  I think I’ve probably said this about a million times already, but I really love the first three authors.  If I were asked who I wanted to see in an urban fantasy anthology, those would have been the three names I’d have picked.  Though maybe I’d have liked Charlaine Harris as well, and oh, Kelley Armstrong. Anyway, I’m very much looking forward to this book – excerpts from Patricia Briggs and Eileen Wilks‘ stories are up.

21axwdc9d6l__aa_sl160_.jpgSarah Monette‘s “The Mirador”: The third in her dark fantasy series (btw, yes, I’ve noticed the “3” theme in this post!).  I think I’ve posted the link before, but excerpts from the book are up on her website.  The series revolves around two main characters, Felix and Mildmay, and they take turns to narrate the story.  I love these books – they’re dark, edgy, and compelling. 

21x46wfwrll__aa_sl160_.jpgThat’s it for the fantasy – on the historical front, I want Diana Gabaldon‘s “Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blades”.  A spin-off from her Jamie and Claire books, this book focuses on Lord John, a secondary character in the “Outlander” series.  I’ve no idea when it’s set relative to the J&C story timeline though (and no idea when the next J&C book will come out – I just wish she’ll write faster!).  Excerpt here.

31u4dkjygml__aa_sl160_.jpgAnd finally, I want Suzanne Brockmann‘s “Force of Nature”.  Mainly to see what happens to Jules – he better get his HEA soon.  Oh, and just one more, Jayne Castle‘s “Silver Master”.  Jayne Ann Krentz’s futuristic romances are my guilty pleasure.

I did say August was a good month for books 🙂

14 thoughts on “Books for August

  1. I received two lord john books a couple of weeks ago. I want to say the next one comes out in Nov? But I could be completely wrong. I will look for them and find out.

    Sadly I don’t know what the hell I did with them. You have too many books when you have to ‘look’ for them. I swear.

  2. You actually have the Lord John books? Okay, I’m completely jealous. The one coming out in August is a new book, and I think the one in November is a collection of three Lord John novellas, that were previously published in various anthologies.

  3. uh yeah… sorry 😦

    Good news is that the one in November is three novellas but only two are previously published.

    Looks like Jaime plays a big part in the Aug book but I have never read the outlander series so really I can’t tell you where it is in the time line.

  4. I keep thinking I need to read Twilight. Even though I don’t like vampires. And teen vampires give me a slightly squicky feeling, but so many people love these books, they must be great.

    And I’ve been wondering about the Weather Wardens too. The premise sounds so interesting. Do you think I could read Thin Air without reading the earlier books in the series? Or would I be lost?

    And Gabaldon is dead to me. Never again will I get sucked in! (I hope… I think I need a 12-step program.)

  5. Sybil: Thanks for the Jamie info. I had a bad feeling that one of the novellas was new – now I’ve to decide if it’s worth buying an entire book for one story. Hmmm… prob not, esp if it’s hardcover.

    Jennie: Twlight was great. It’s a YA romance at heart really. Though it sounds from the initial reviews that Eclipse isn’t that fantastic… I was going to check if there was an excerpt on Stephenie Meyer’s website for you to read, but it looks as though her site’s down – prob lots of ppl logging on today because Eclipse is out?

    Re Weather Wardens – Thin Air is probably not going to be the best place for you to start, because a *lot* has happened in previous books. Try to get hold of Ill Wind, which is the first book (and still the best, IMO). Actually, I’m almost reluctant to rec this because you’ll prob want to read the next… and the next… and I do think the more recent ones just haven’t been as satisfying, and I’m really not exaggerating the cliffhanger-type endings. It’s frustrating because the plot/action keeps on building up and up, and never really resolves itself. I will post when I’ve read Thin Air, anyway, and let you know if I’ve changed my mind on continuing!

  6. Hey there, I found your blog through Twisted Kingdom.

    And oh my gosh! The third book, ‘Eclipse’ is coming out soon??? I haven’t read ‘New Moon’ yet! I loved Twilight so much but now, I just don’t have the time for New Moon! Gotta get started right away. Or as soon as possible! =D

    Great blog, by the way.

  7. Thanks for stopping by! Eclipse was out yesterday – though I haven’t seen it in person yet… and there are rather mixed reviews coming out now. I’m restraining myself from actually reading them in-depth because I don’t want to be spoiled, but I’m not getting a warm and fuzzy feeling from them!

  8. Pingback: Am back! « Me and my books

  9. Twilight is such a good book. I’m onto New Moon at the moment, and I’m hoping Eclipse will live up to it’s reputation!

    I love Edward and Bella, they’re both so in love with each other – and it’s not even physical, well, mostly anyway.

    Mmm, I’m staying single till I find myself a vampire.

  10. Amber – LOL. Without any spoilers, there is a section in Breaking Dawn where Bella keeps on thinking how cold Edward is (physically, I mean!) – it got me thinking of the practicalities of the whole vampire-human relationship thing… I somehow think it’s one of those things better in books than in real life 😉

  11. twighlight, new moon, eclipse and breaking dawn are awsome, but frankly, i think they are overated. People are not in love with the story or characters but the actors who play them in the movie. i could not put them down though. i feelan urge to re read them and nothing can stop me. thats wierd considering i dont think they are anythihng compared to other books eg iva ibbotson

Leave a Reply

