So much for my August books

After listing all the books I want this month, I stopped by the bookstores today and couldn’t find a single one.  Yes, I know it is only the 5th of August, and most of them are coming out later in the month – but you know, wishful thinking…

Though I did see both Lois McMaster Bujold’s “The Sharing Knife: Legacy” and Julia Quinn’s “The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever” – both of which I cannot buy because I’ve ordered it from Amazon.  Aarrgghhh.  Especially since the only reason I ordered them from Amazon was that I couldn’t find them in the shops.  Double aaarrgghhh.  And it always always happens this way.  Ordering a book from Amazon is almost a guarantee I’ll see it the next time I go to the bookstore.

I didn’t leave empty-handed though (err… not that I usually do).  I picked up three books:

21j38ns2bvfl__aa_sl160_.jpgBrandon Sanderson‘s “Mistborn” – First in a fantasy trilogy.  I’ve been meaning to get this ever since I read his debut novel “Elantris”, which I really liked.  I forgot this was coming out in mass-market this month, so it was a pleasant surprise to see this sitting in the New Releases section.  There is actually a back cover blurb from Romantic Times (“An exceedingly satisfying book!”), so I’m guessing there is some romance in here as well.

21fvdx2y0dl__aa_sl160_.jpgLisa Cach‘s “A Babe in Ghostland” – Paranormal romance, ummm… I’m guessing almost chick-lit based on the cover?  Not normally the kind of book I’d pick up, but Rosario has been really liking it, and the first few pages I read in the store intrigued me.

21scz5daanl__aa_sl160_.jpgLisa Shearin‘s “Magic Lost, Trouble Found” – Fantasy.  I think this is her first novel.  And I err… liked the cover.  No, really, that wasn’t the whole reason I bought it – I think I’ve read an interview with her somewhere and she talked about why she renamed her book.  One sec – off to Google…  Yes, the original title was “Thief of Souls”, which rings a bell – I think she said that she was advised to change that to something lighter to suit the feel of the books more.  Or I be completely making that up because I really can’t find the original site.  Anyway, it sounds interesting – the heroine is a sorceress with the ability to find things, hence the title.  Her website has an excerpt.

2 thoughts on “So much for my August books

  1. Yes, Magic Lost, Trouble Found is my first novel and the first in a series. The sequel is Armed & Magical and it’ll be out next May. Yep, my editor suggested that we go with something lighter to reflect the tone of the book and I agreed. Thief of Souls sounded way too serious, and the book is a fun, action adventure story. Aleta Rafton is the cover artist and she nailed it! I couldn’t have been happier. When you finish reading ML TF, drop me an email at lisa@lisashearin.com and let me know what you think.

    Take care!
    Lisa

  2. Thanks for stopping by – and for confirming that I wasn’t making things up! 🙂

    It is a really nice cover, and definitely stood out on the shelves as well. Am not exactly sure when I’ll be reading it – probably while I’m on hols the next couple of weeks – but I’ll let you know how I got on with it.

Leave a Reply

