My latest TBR additions

All complete impulse buys – except maybe one.

214hw1e6p8l__aa_sl160_.jpgBarbara Michaels’ “Smoke and Mirrors” (mystery) – Guess which one wasn’t the impulse buy.  Well, I could say that I didn’t go into the bookstore with the express intention of getting a Michaels book… but hey, I wanted one.  This is a 1989 book, and set in Washington DC.  I think I prefer her books set in cities to those set in the countryside.

213qy1eyzml__aa_sl160_.jpgLaura Childs‘ “Keepsake Crimes” (cosy mystery) – The cover blurb has “A Scrapbooking Mystery – Scrapbook Tips Included!”.  I think I can safely say that wasn’t what attracted me – I’m the most “non-crafty” person I know.  But the first few pages where Carmela Bertrand, the proprietor of a scrapbooking store in New Orleans, shows a group some tips on preparing a wedding scrapbook interested me.  Heh.  Never say never.

21d64faajrl__aa_sl160_.jpgMonica McCarty’s “Highlander Untamed” (historical romance) – The last Scottish historical I read was Julie Garwood’s umm… “The Bride”, “The Secret”?  Whichever one was her latest one.  I love her historicals but I’ve a horrible memory.  Anyway, there were three McCarty books displayed in a row, and at first glance, I thought they were the same.  And wondered how an author managed to get three prime spots on the New Releases table.  I thought the prologue faintly reminiscent of a Garwood one (okay, I have to stop with the comparisons) and so, why not…

2127u0cxgrl__aa_sl160_.jpgSuzanne Enoch’s “A Touch of Minx” (contemporary romance) – This is the latest in her Samantha Jellicoe/Rick Addison series (cat-burglar/super-rich billionaire with an English accent).  I wasn’t planning on getting this.  Heck, I didn’t even know it was out.  I’ve liked the first three, but they were a bit same-y with no real story arc progression.  But with three books in my hand already, I figured one more couldn’t hurt.  And err…  I cheated – I peeked at the last page.  That’s all I’m saying!

Leave a Reply

