Revisiting Amelia Peabody

It’s been quiet here because I’ve been recovering from a cold for the past couple of days, and can’t quite organise my thoughts enough to post about the books I’ve read!

But one of the comfort reads I reached for was Elizabeth Peters‘ “He Shall Thunder in the Sky”.  This is probably one of the more romantic books in the Amelia Peabody series, but it doesn’t just have romance, it has suspense, mystery, action – everything you could possibly ask for, really.

I’d never really been interested in Egyptology before reading these books, but I’m now quite seriously tempted to go and visit the Tutankhamun exhibition at the O2 Dome in November.

And as good as her Barbara Michaels books are, I really really *want* another Amelia Peabody.   I may do a re-read of the whole series now.

3 thoughts on “Revisiting Amelia Peabody

  1. Ooh, more romantic you say? I’ve only read the first four Peabody books, and I really liked them, but I never read any more for some reason. Might be the lack of romance. 😦 So whose love story does He Shall Thunder center on? The son? You can tell me. LOL.

    And I hope your cold goes away soon!

  2. Marg – I still have one more Vicky Bliss book to go, but only because I can’t track it down! I really like her BM books – I think they’re more Gothic in general compared to her EP ones, but it could also be they were written more recently and so have a slightly different style to her earlier EP books. Haven’t quite figured it out yet…

    Jennie – I found the first few books a bit slow as well, IMO, the later books are much better. Here’s my wrap-up of the series – it answers your question as well 😉
    https://bookdaze.wordpress.com/2007/03/30/a-look-back-at-my-march-reading/

Leave a Reply

