November Books

For some reason, I’m in a bit of a reading slump.  I read seven books in October, which is half the number of books I read during the month before.  Though I did re-read some of my favourite Amelia Peabody books.

Anyway, here are the books I’m looking forward to in November – not that many this time around:

21a5egw6lzl__aa_sl160_.jpg“An Affair Before Christmas” by Eloisa James (Historical romance) – Second book in her Desperate Duchesses series.  The heroine of this one, Poppy, wasn’t really onstage during the first book, so I admit I’m more looking forward to reading about Elijah and Jemima – and hoping their marriage takes a turn for the better.  I also really like the cover for this book – it’s so colourful and somehow conveys this decadent feeling, which feels really well-suited to the Georgian period setting.  Excerpt here.

21h3gazvksl__aa_sl160_.jpg“Reader and Raelynx” by Sharon Shinn (Fantasy) – Fourth book in her Twelve Houses series, which is more traditional sword-and-sorcery fantasy than her Samaria series.  I just love Sharon Shinn’s writing and this series is a perfect blend of fantasy and romance.  Her latest book “General Winston’s Daughter” has whetted my appetite nicely for this one. 

210tpa5vvll__aa_sl160_.jpgAlso, another Sharon Shinn story will be in the anthology “Elemental Magic”, which I admit is the only reason why I’m getting it.  Other authors are Carol Berg, Jean Johnson, and Rebecca York, and it’s described as a fantasy romance anthology.  On Ms Shinn’s website, she describes her contribution as being very gothic – “Cinderella as written by Emily Bronte”!

2 thoughts on “November Books

Leave a Reply

