A good book day

Amazon delivery this morning – Sharon Shinn‘s “Reader and Raelynx” and Suzanne Brockmann‘s “All Through The Night”!  I’ve been waiting impatiently for these books to come out – and now my biggest dilemma is which one to read first 🙂

21pthbsdhal__aa_sl160_.jpgOh, I’ve just realised I missed ATTN off my November books post below.  It’s part of her Troubleshooter series, following on from “Force of Nature” (which I loved).  It’s not a full-length novel, however – it’s a Christmas novella.  In hardback.  Having said that, 280-plus pages isn’t too bad, and I bought it off Amazon for around the same price as I would pay for a mass-market paperback instore.  And it’s Jules.  Nuff said.

31aiftodzzl__aa_sl160_.jpgAlso, and this is the part that made it a really good book day – I borrowed Eva Ibbotson‘s “Star of Kazan” from the library about a month ago.  However, I haven’t really been in the right mood for reading one of her books for some weeks, so it’s just been sitting on my bedside table all this while.  And I *thought* I had renewed it online.  However, I checked yesterday and I hadn’t – so I owed £2 in fines.  Grrrr… I was not a happy bunny.

So I decided to go in today and return it, kicking myself all the while for wasting money through sheer stupidity.  Before the library though, I had to head to the post office to collect a parcel, which necessitated having to queue for 15 minutes-plus.  Normally, I would just stand in line, tapping my foot and thinking evil thoughts about everyone else in front of me.  However, this time around, I fished “The Star of Kazan” out of my bag,  started reading, became completely engrossed in the story, and actually resented reaching the front of the queue!

I decided to go in, pay my fine, and renew instead of returning it – and the very best bit is when I got to the library, the librarian announced they were having a fine amnesty.  She cleared my fine!  I left with the biggest smile on my face.

So now, three books I’m so looking forward to reading – and I may actually get into the habit of carrying a book around with me all the time.  But my handbag normally weighs a ton already, and the thought of lugging around extra weight puts me off – will have to think about it… 

2 thoughts on “A good book day

  1. Yay! I love finally getting books I’ve been looking forward to (which reminds me that Eloisa James’s is on sale today). And interesting about Star of Kazan — I had thought that all of Ibbotson’s children’s books were for really little kids (and so not something I would want to read). I’ll have to put it on my list.

    And I never leave my house without a book in my bag. Really, I get made fun of for it, but you never know when you’re going to be stuck somewhere with nothing to do. And a little mmpb doesn’t weight too much!

  2. I’m going to look for the EJ book this weekend 🙂

    “The Star of Kazan” reads as though it’s for a slightly younger audience compared to “The Morning Gift”, but I haven’t finished it yet. I picked up “All Through the Night” and got distracted, and then “Reader and Raelynx” – am halfway through and loving it so far!

Leave a Reply

