Amazon Prime in the UK

I received an email announcing the launch of Amazon Prime in the UK.  Basically, you pay £49 (approx $100) and receive free one-day shipping for a year.

I’m in two minds on this – on one hand, it’s almost instant gratification!  I could order a book tonight and get it tomorrow.  Which is really tempting, especially for the latest US releases which appear about a month later (if it ever does appear) in the high-street bookstores.

On the other hand, at the moment, you get free shipping on all orders over £15.  And let’s face it, it’s not difficult for me to order over £15 worth of books at any one time.  And yes, the Super Saver delivery turnaround times are slightly longer at three to five business days, but then again, as I’m not around during the day, the delivery company normally leaves the parcels with the porter and I collect them on weekends.  Which sort of negates the one-day delivery aspect of the whole thing,

So would I pay approx £1 per week for the ability to order books whenever I want without having to consider postage charges?  Probably not.  I think I’ll hold off for now.  But I admit I’d be really tempted if they bring it down to, say, £30 or so… 

2 thoughts on “Amazon Prime in the UK

  1. Oh, they emailed me last week to tell me that one of my orders was “undeliverable” – after waiting about 2 months. Grrr. I think if it’s not via Royal Mail, the deliveries come at odd times and not necessarily when the porter for my building is around.

    On the other hand, I had forgotten about it (just goes to show how many books I order!), so didn’t email customer services to track it down. I’ve done that a couple of times when parcels haven’t shown up when expected, and they’ve been really good (so far!) about sending out replacements.

Leave a Reply

