The Year in Review – Part 1

One of the reasons I started this blog was because I wanted somewhere to keep track of my reading, and this is a good time to take a look back at my reading over 2007. 

Although there are lists of books read each month on my sidebar, I’ve rapidly realised that they aren’t good enough for detailed analysis (because I don’t do enough number-crunching at work, obviously!), and have started to transfer them over into an Excel spreadsheet.  Err… not the most interesting of tasks, and I’m only up to April.  Sigh.  I’ll be smarter next year.

However, I think it’s quite safe to say, even without having the figures, that the “Author I Most Glommed during 2007” is Elizabeth Peters.  I started off with her Amelia Peabody series (which I loved loved loved), moved on to her EP stand-alones and Vicky Bliss books, then her Barbara Michaels’ books, and am now tracking down the few EP and BM books I haven’t yet read.

Some other quick stats for the first third of the year:

  • 79 books read in total –  Hmmm… that equates to a book every 1 1/2 days?  LOL.  I know why though – I was looking at moving jobs at the beginning of the year, and err… it’s safe to say I had a lot of spare time on my hands!
  • Just under half (36) were mysteries – Well, not really surprising as I classify Elizabeth Peters’ books as mysteries
  • 22 were romances, while 15 were classified under fantasy (about half of them were “traditional” fantasy, while the other half urban fantasy)

More to come, once I finish getting all my books in the spreadsheet – and figure out some meaningful stats!

6 thoughts on “The Year in Review – Part 1

  1. Oh, I love to see someone else doing this. I have a spreadsheet I have been using to track what I read for about 2 years now, and I periodically take it out and post some statistical information on my blog about this. I know this makes me hopelessly geeky, but I love it anyway. I am glad I am not alone!

  2. I love this time of year because everyone does their year-end lists. I kept one of Rosario’s spreadsheets this year, and it’s really fun to look back at everything.

    Hey, did you notice that the snow gathers on the bottom of the screen?

  3. Susan – LOL, I suspect I’m having more fun with the spreadsheet than I should! Trust me, you’re not the only one.

    Jennie – I think you have the right idea. I need to be more organised next year! When are your lists going up? 😉

  4. Pingback: The Year in Review - Part 2 « Me and my books

  5. Pingback: The Year in Review - Part 4 « Me and my books

  6. Pingback: The Year in Review - Part 5 « Me and my books

Leave a Reply

