The Year in Review – Part 2

I should have better things to do with my time… but oh no.  I’ve finally finished transferring my 2007 reading into a spreadsheet, so what’s the first thing I do? 

Ta-dahhh!  A graphical representation of my 2007 reading:

2007_1.jpg 

January was a very good month for reading!  I did pretty well during summer as well, though towards the end of the year, I just haven’t had much time for reading.  I did make a bit of an effort to get through my TBR pile in December (reviews to come).

Overall, a pretty good mix of fantasy, mystery, and romance – although I admit if you dig down into the detail, you’ll find most of the non-romance books have pretty strong romance threads running through them.  The one non-fiction book I did read in 2007 was Georgette Heyer’s biography, so that was romance-related as well!

Quick stats for the year:

  • 183 books read in total – Mysteries made up about a third, as did romance, while fantasy books accounted for around one-fifth
  • And I read books by around 95 authors – I say around, as I’m excluding anthologies from this count
  • Most-read author: Elizabeth Peters (surprise, surprise) – 30 EPs plus 6 of her Barbara Michaels books
  • 2nd most-read author: Eloisa James – 13 books in total and I finished her backlist this year

 For the next post, I promise I’ll stop blathering on about overall stats and start naming books – and authors!

Previous posts:

  • Part 1 – Quick look at the first third of the year
2 thoughts on “The Year in Review – Part 2

  1. May I have a copy of your spreadsheet? I thought I was a geek tracking mine down. I never made a graph out of it. I have been tracking since 2000. Unfortunately, I lost 2.5 years worth when my laptop crashed and my back up was not recoverable either.

Leave a Reply

