Squeeeee…

Guess what?  I got a Sony Reader!

I wasn’t going to get one – really.  I just wanted to see what they looked like in real life.  So I walked into this Sony store, and there it was.  And it was just so sleek and shiny and sexy.  I don’t know why, but I thought it would be, well, thicker.  More like a paperback.  But it isn’t.  It’s really slim and the perfect size.  So I ummmed and ahhhed for a day, and went back to get it.  My new toy.  I’ve been playing with it for a few hours now and it’s beautiful.  I haven’t actually tried to read anything on it though – LOL.  Maybe that will shatter my illusions.  I think I’ll take some time to get used to the refresh rate on the pages – it takes about a second or so.  I think it’s just a different style of reading – not too worried about that at the moment. 

Also, major book haul – it was a rather productive holiday in Boston, all in all.

Not only did I get six of the books I wanted for January – all except Catherine Asaro’s “The Ruby Dice” (not yet out) and Janet Evanovich’s “Plum Lucky” (I was strong and did not cave in) – I also got… *deep breath*

“Shadow Music” by Julie Garwood (historical romance) – I know, I know.  Reviews aren’t great and it’s a hardback.  But I couldn’t not get Julie Garwood’s first historical in years.

“Firebirds” and “Firebirds Rising” (SF/F anthologies) – Firebird is an SF/F imprint aimed at teenagers, and these are their first two anthologies of original short stories.  I admit I only picked up “Firebirds Rising” for the Sharon Shinn story, but liked the other pages that I flipped through, so I bought it.  Other authors in these anthologies that I wanted to read were Sherwood Smith and Tamora Pierce – I’ve only read a couple of other stories so far, but it’s all good.

“The State of the Onion” by Julie Hyzy (cosy mystery) – Centred on the adventures of a White House chef.  Impulse buy – I was looking at the New Releases rack.  Book placement works.

“Dangerous to Know” by Mary Jo Putney (historical romance) – I didn’t get this when it first came out because it was a re-issue of “The Diabolical Baron” (which I already had) and another novella, but it was on sale!  And I do like the cover of this one.

“The Seventh Sinner”, “The Night of 400 Rabbits”, and “The Dead Sea Cipher” by Elizabeth Peters (mystery) – Ahhh.  Couldn’t resist.  I’m sure there are a *few* more EPs that I haven’t yet read.

“The Spymaster’s Lady” by Joanna Bourne (historical romance) – Wasn’t meaning to get this one, but what the heck?  Online buzz has convinced me.

“Magic Study” by Maria V Snyder (fantasy) – Again, wasn’t meaning to get this one in trade paperback, because the first book in this series didn’t wow me, but I was swayed by the cover.

“Line of Sight” by Rachel Caine (paranormal romance, I think) – This is part of Silhouette’s Athena Force series.  While I haven’t *loved* anything by Rachel Caine recently, she writes a good story. 

I don’t even want to think about my credit card bill next month.  I couldn’t help it – books were so cheap in the States! 

What else?  Oh, I finished Patricia Briggs‘ “Iron Kissed” – WOW.  Even though I was completely jetlagged and I couldn’t sleep until I reached the last page.  And I did some chapter re-reads the following day to make sure I didn’t miss anything. 

And I haven’t even mentioned the Amazon delivery that was waiting for me when I got back – three Noel Streatfeild books that I ordered after watching “Ballet Shoes” on telly over Christmas (great adaptation and actors include Emma Watson of Harry Potter fame, but I get the feeling the book will be better).

I was actually feeling pleased at my attempt to tackle my TBR pile during the holidays, but now… uh-oh. 

6 thoughts on “Squeeeee…

  1. Congrats on the new toy! Oh, you’ll get used to it, everyone I’ve talked to was first annoyed by the refresh, but then stopped noticing after 5 minutes or so 😀

  2. You’re right – I read my very first book on it last night, and it was just like paging down on a PC. I think my main complaint at the mo is that it’s not easy to flip back and forth. I never realised how many times I tend to revisit earlier pages.

    Apart from that, it is v cool. I foresee lots of ebook purchases this year…

    • So am I. Just reading Magic Bleeds on it. By the way I also bought my reader in the UK (Germany only got it in May of that year), via the waterstones.com site which at that time didn’t mind shipping to Germany. And Sony has a EU warranty so no problems if something goes wrong. ^^

  3. Pingback: Breaking Radio Silence… (and Something New!) « Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

