Around the Web

Patricia Briggs posted a January update on her website.  Have I mentioned that I just loved her latest Mercy book, “Iron Kissed”?  It was everything an urban fantasy should be.  And I was so rooting for the guy she picked.  Heh.  I’m really pleased she didn’t drag on that love triangle.  I’m not entirely sure if it was *too* tidy, but I did like how it was resolved.

Ms Briggs also had a online chat some time back – if you can’t be bothered wading through the transcript for the important bits, I’ve done the dirty work 🙂  Ummm… I think I’ve picked out the interesting parts – however, I may have skipped and/or misinterpreted some bits…

  • She has a short story in an anthology, “Wolfsbane and Mistletoe”, coming out in October 2008 – this focuses on David the mercenary from “Moon Called”.  I’m completely blanking on this character, methinks I will have to reread “Moon Called”.  As an aside, Charlaine Harris is co-editing this anthology, and there will be a Sookie Stackhouse story as well.
     
  • Vampires make a return in the next Mercy book – expected to be out next Jan (sigh)

The rest are spoilers for “Iron Kissed”, so only read on if you’ve finished “Iron Kissed” – or really, if you don’t care one way or the other, err… in which case, never mind…

**SPOILER**SPOILER**SPOILER**SPOILER**

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

  • The next Mercy book will start where “Iron Kissed” left off, i.e. in the bedroom.  I’m glad it does actually, it doesn’t feel like a cop-out that way – err… that is, if she means what I think she means.  And I think it’ll be an important scene.

Finally, re the way the book ended, Ms Briggs posted an explanation on her website –  I thought it was a really thoughtful article explaining why she wrote what she wrote. 

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

E

N

D

2 thoughts on “Around the Web

  1. I’m also pleased about how the triangle ended, even if it was simple. I’ve read books with relationship issues dragging out far too long and it makes me get tired of reading about that part of the book easily. At least now Mercy could move on with other aspects of her life.

    I’m looking forward to the next sequel more eagerly than I was before with that spoiler you mentioned. xD It’d be great to start off from where Iron Kissed ended so, yes, it might be an important scene to the story! =D

    Now I wonder how things with the vampires would go about this time. O:

    I cannot remember David clearly either. xD It’s been almost a year since I read the previous books, heh.

  2. Mmmm… yes – def agree about love triangle, I was getting worried with Blood Bound because I thought it was getting slightly Anita-like!

    Can’t wait for the next book, 12 whole months to go!

Leave a Reply

