Around the Web

In case you haven’t yet heard, Diana Gabaldon has a new blog – yay!  Also, she’s put up a picture of a young Claire on her website (scroll about halfway down the page, in the Jan 11 post) – that’s Claire in the upcoming Outlander graphic novel (2009). 

What I didn’t realise was that it’s actually a brand-new story set in the Outlander universe, not a version of an existing book.  Very cool – I can’t wait to see pictures of the other characters.  I like the Claire pic, it looks somewhat like how I imagine her to be and it has the right period-feel to it.

Speaking of pictures, the cover for the next Lois McMaster Bujold book is up on her website (scroll down).  This is for the third book, “Passage”, in her “The Sharing Knife” series (April 2008). 

I’ll be honest, it doesn’t grab me.  The first two covers were much better – they had an otherworld-type quality and definitely said “fantasy” to me.  And they matched each other, IMO.  This one has a turn-of-the-century frontier feel to it, not fantasy.  I think the two people in the background are a distraction, but then again, if it was just Dag and Fawn, maybe it would be too much like a romance.  Not quite sure about the body language between Dag and Fawn as well.  On the other hand, I (still) haven’t read the second book “Legacy” (sigh, TBR pile guilt), so it’s difficult for me to say whether this one fits the series or not…

2 thoughts on “Around the Web

  1. Is your link to the Bujold cover working for you? It’s strange, I can see the top half of the cover on the Snapshots pop-up you have, but when I click the link, it doesn’t find the page. 😦 I can see Dag’s head but not the rest! And I can’t find it from the homepage (but then, maybe I’m not patient enough). 🙂

  2. Ahh, it was moved – it’s now on the same page as the first two TSK covers, but halfway down the page. Even cooler, there’s an initial pencil sketch of the cover as well (which looks nicer than the final version!).

    Link fixed now, thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

