Yea or Nay?

I was at Amazon UK’s website and these covers for Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series came up (Orbit’s releasing them in the UK later this year):

21jxlsc-fvl__aa_sl160_.jpg     2122xtq0jkl__aa_sl160_.jpg     21h5dpv0usl__aa_sl160_.jpg

Here are the original US covers:

21y8604x4al__aa_sl160_.jpg     21xyb7owpll__aa_sl160_.jpg     21q4pgimxhl__aa_sl160_.jpg

I think the UK covers are more atmospheric than the US ones, but the US ones would grab my attention while I’m browsing in a bookstore.  I think I just like colour!  

The UK ones are quite good though – I like the silhouette-style concept and they do convey “urban fantasy” quite well.  Also, it’s immediately obvious that they’re part of the same series.  But – and especially in the “Iron Kissed” cover – doesn’t the girl strike you as just a tad bit too skinny? 

12 thoughts on “Yea or Nay?

  1. Hmm, I think I like the UK covers better. (Though I haven’t read the books, so this is purely from an aesthetic viewpoint.) I usually don’t like photos of models on my covers–ruins my mental picture of the characters.

    And I’m not sure the girl on “Iron Kissed” is too skinny, but she’s much too busty for someone that skinny. 😉

  2. Thinking about it, she’s got that Lara Croft vibe going, hasn’t she? Maybe that’s where they got the inspiration!

    Oh, and you need to read this series, Jennie. Think hmmm… Kelley Armstrong. That level of urban fantasy.

  3. I much prefer the US book covers–exactly how I picture Mercy. Well, to be fair I suppose my image of Mercy was shaped in someway by the cover, but I think it captures her pretty well. She’s tough, the tattoos are cool, and she’s not a supermodel (but still sexy). The UK covers are nice too but a bit…maven on the prowl. Mercy is a mechanic, not a sex kitten 😉

    By the way, I adore this series too. Patricia Briggs rules. 🙂

  4. Thea – I love the first US cover. Mmm… never really thought about it, but yeah, Mercy looks like the model on the cover in my mind. Or vice versa 🙂

  5. Pingback: Books for February « Me and my books

  6. Hi Li! 🙂
    This is the first I’ve seen of the UK covers, and I have to say I really like them. The US covers are more graphic and colorful, which I do like, but I’m not so sure if I support flaunting Mercy’s bare midriff, as gorgeous as it is. LOL!

    I couldn’t even say which cover style I like better. Both are really great.

  7. Christine – They’re just really different, aren’t they? I’m leaning towards the US ones at the moment, but that may just be a “grass is greener on the other side” thing!

  8. Pingback: Books for March | Me and My Books

Leave a Reply

