I cave…

Remember my resolution not to buy a new book unless I finished one from my TBR?  Shot to pieces by the Fictionwise Leap Day sale.  I’m such a sucker.

I got a rather random selection of books:

“Innocent in Death” by JD Robb (futuristic romance/suspense) – The last In Death book I read was more than a year ago, so I’ve a few books to catch up.  I *think* this is where I left off – I can never remember the titles with this series.  I purposely took a break because I was finding each book just a bit too same-y – I think it worked because I’m actually looking very forward to this one!

“Demon Night” by Meljean Brook (paranormal romance) – Errmmm… I’m going to read “Demon Moon” this month.  I promise.  Then I can read this.

“The Perils of Pleasure” by Julie Anne Long (historical romance) – While the reviews haven’t been glowing, they’ve generally been good.  I’m keen to find out if this one has the sparkle that characterised her first two novels.

“Virgin River” by Robyn Carr (contemporary romance) – I’ve been wondering about this one – I know a lot of peeps have rated it.  So while I’m not a huge contemp fan, I’m giving it a go.

“Grimspace” by Ann Aguirre (SF romance) – After all the blogland buzz, I was incredibly curious.  It’s a toss-up whether I’ll read this or the JD Robb one first, methinks.

“Silent in the Grave” by Deanna Raybourn (historical mystery) – Inspired by the review of the second book in this series over at Dear Author.  I’m starting to read a lot more mysteries, and I like historical settings, so why not?

Gosh, when I break a resolution, I don’t just break it, I smash it…

4 thoughts on “I cave…

  1. You totally had to buy all those books. They were on sale! Don’t feel guilty. 😉

    I really loved Demon Night–definitely recommend. I liked Perils of Pleasure and Silent in the Grave pretty well too. I am so behind on JD Robb that I think I’ll never catch up.

    I was just over at Marg’s blog where she was talking about Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden series — and the spoiler you dropped has me insanely curious. I’m currently on the 4th book.

    ***SPOILER***

    You really have to tell me which character she kills off. Is it the new husband?

  2. You did well to last that long! I am hoping to read Silent in the Grave later this week, and I am definitely thinking that I am going to have to cave and buy Grimspace as well!

  3. Jennie – LOL. Here’s the Amazon link for you. It’s for the book after, and the reviews give away the plot of the previous book. This (LSA) was actually the first book I read, so it didn’t really strike me as a big deal when I was reading it!

    Ana – I had three books in my cart, and then I thought, what the heck, why not 🙂

    Marg – I skimmed a few pages of Grimspace last night, liked it, but got completely sucked into Innocent in Death. Grimspace will probably be next!

Leave a Reply

