Weekend Thoughts

To all those who said I should definitely read Elizabeth Peters‘ “Night Train to Memphis”, thank you!  I read it last night, and now am impatiently waiting the next instalment in the Vicky Bliss series.  I do think her later books are better than the earlier ones – there’s added depth in characters and relationships, IMO.  This book had everything I was expecting – mystery and romance with a large dose of humour.  And I’ve a soft spot for the Egyptian setting, thanks to Amelia Peabody.  Despite the setting, I have to say that this was distinctly a Vicky Bliss story.  If anything, it actually reminded me of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot’s Orient adventures rather than the Peabody books. 

However, this is driving me nuts – just what is the connection between the Tregarth family and the Peabody family?  From the hints dropped, there’s a connection (actual relationship?) on John’s mother’s side.  What he says about his great-granddad makes him sound very much like Emerson, and I can see his granddad being Ramses (sorry, can’t find the exact parts to quote now).  Only how does that fit in with the overall timelines?  Sigh.  Does anyone have a definitive answer?

On a completely different note, I bought a book today.  Only worth mentioning because it was an impulse buy in a bookstore, and I don’t do that many of those nowadays.  Not in bookstores, anyway – online is another story  😉

I think I’m more organised with my purchases nowadays as I keep an eye on the new releases each month and take notes on what I want to get.  Also, I’m consciously trying to make more ebook purchases these days, just because the paper version takes up space!  This especially goes for authors I haven’t read before, because space is precious… 

The book is Susan Grant‘s “The Star Princess”.  I’ve read one of her books before – I think it was “Contact” – and wasn’t hugely impressed, but this sounds like a lighthearted futuristic romance, which was exactly what I’m in the mood for.  Blurb:

Ilana Hamilton isn’t an adventurer like her pilot mother, or a diplomat like her do-right brother; she’s a brash, fun-loving filmmaker who’d rather work behind the camera than be a “Star Princess” in front of it. Heiress or not, she’s a perfectly normal, single woman…until Prince Ché Vedla crashes into her life.

With six months to choose a bride, the sexy royal wants to sow his wild oats. Ilana can’t blame him — but fall for the guy herself? Not a chance! Hotshot pilot or no, Ché is too stuffy, too arrogant, and too old-fashioned. But when he sweeps her off her feet Ilana sees stars, and the higher he takes her the more she loves to fly. Only her heart asks where she will land.

What was the last book you bought on impulse – purely from browsing and without any previous recs?

8 thoughts on “Weekend Thoughts

  1. Last book bought on impulse: The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson.

    Last book I almost bought on impulse – but checked my bank account before buying only to see it was short – was Medalon by Jennifer Fallon. I’m half through the book and though for the moment, there’s no romance at all, the universe and political intrigues fits perfectly my taste. It’s long though, I don’t think I’ll finish the Demon Child Trilogy before Thursday. Thank God it’s holidays!

    I put it on the whole Hythrun Chronicles Series on my wishlist with C.L Wilson though ^^

  2. Does anyone have a definitive answer?

    I don’t think so. It’s a subject that has been discussed extensively (and I do mean EXTENSIVELY) by fans on the yahoo groups, but last I checked, no one had found an explanation that fit all the books. I suspect EP screwed up the timelines when she wrote them, so there won’t BE a definitive answer at all.

    Of course, I haven’t checked out the discussions out in a while. This and the “who should play Emerson in a movie?” issue make me zone out really quickly by now!

  3. I can’t remember which last book I bought on impulse, but it happens to me like so often, so that’s probably why it’s hard…

    thanks for reminding me i should look up the Vicky Bliss’ books 🙂 Great news is that there are actually available at the library. Yay!

  4. La Plume – The series is that good, huh? Okay, will have to go look for her books in the bookstores now. Or maybe actually reading the CL Wilson book would be a good start.

    Rosario – Thanks for the info. I know I’ve seen some discussion somewhere, but since I wasn’t that into Vicky Bliss at the time, I just ignored it. But now I want to know, dammit!

    Nath – Go try Amelia Peabody as well 😀 “Crocodile on the Sandbank” is the first one.

  5. Bookdaze: Yep the series is that good ^^ But before buying Jennifer Fallon, I’d rather warn you that if you like a fair amount of romance, you’ll be disappointed. It’s Epic fantasy all the way, adventures, fights, political intrigues, lies, treasons, a couple of deaths, OH Blood as well… but just a tiny tiny hint of romance [Though I’m expecting more in the second book, but I know it’s not the book for that].
    And yes reading C.L Wilson will be a good start :p [ especially since you”re doing that TBR pile competition if I remember well ^^)

  6. The last impulse book I bought was Star of the Morning by Lynn Kurland. I’d never read anything by her and was a bit leery, but I was very happily surprised. Great fantasy a la Sharon Shinn. And the sequel, The Mage’s Daughter is even better. Now I’m impatiently waiting for book 3.

  7. You know…I haven’t read any Elizabeth Peters books *blushes* And I hear they are so good! I’ll have to pick up the first of the Peabody (sp?) series–something crocodile something?

    The last book I picked up at random was “The Lonely Werewolf Girl”…just because the cover looked cool and had a Neil Gaiman endorsement (naturally I must read anything he endorses!). Haven’t read it yet, but it’s in the cycle…you know, the ever-growing cycle list of TBR books 😛

  8. La Plume – I may read CL Wilson this weekend, am sort of in the mood for fantasy!

    Angie – Really? Like Sharon Shinn? I haven’t read any of her books before, but am intrigued now!

    Thea – “Crocodile on the Sandbank” is the first one. I admit the first couple of books didn’t convince me – it wasn’t an instant thing like the Bujold Vorkosigan books! I thought the first books were okay, and continued reading. By the third (or fourth?), I was hooked, and it is now up there in my all-time favourite series.

Leave a Reply

