Around the Web

The Times today had a review of Eva Ibbotson‘s new YA (children’s?) book “The Dragonfly Pool”.  I wasn’t that interested, but I am now after reading the review.  Here’s the back cover blurb:

Tally Hamilton is furious to hear she is being sent from London to a horrid, stuffy boarding school in the countryside. And all because of the stupid war. But Delderton Hall is a far more unusual and interesting place than Tally ever imagined, and she soon falls in love with its eccentric staff and pupils. Now she’s even organizing an exciting school trip to the kingdom of Bergania …although Tally never expected to meet the prince. Prince Karil hates his life at the palace and he is only truly happy when he escapes to the dragonfly pool, a remote spot in the forests of Bergania. Then Karil meets a feisty English girl who brings the promise of adventure. But his country is under threat, and the prince soon looks to his new friend Tally for survival as well as friendship…

If you’re a Paddington Bear fan, the Times also had an interview with the author, Michael Bond, with an extract from the new book.  I was never that into Paddington (think I only read the first one way back when) but it’s a amusing extract.

Moving on, here’s an interview with Lois McMaster Bujold at the Star Tribune newspaper website – it’s interesting reading.  She also provides a summary of the universes for her different books.

Finally, if you loved Eloisa James‘ “An Affair Before Christmas” (which I did), here’s a bonus chapter on her website (you have to register to read, but it’s free and quick).  I’m loving her Desperate Duchesses series and can’t wait for “Duchess by Night” to come out.

5 thoughts on “Around the Web

  1. I’ve never read any of Ibbotson’s children’s books, but that review makes it sound lovely. And the cover is so adorable! I might see if my library gets it.

    I’m going to come back tomorrow and read the Bujold interview and the Eloisa James chapter. I’ll need a little something to help get through my Monday workday. 🙂

  2. Jennie – I love the cover too! I was looking for it today, but it doesn’t seem to be out yet. It’s Bank Holiday Monday here and the sun’s actually out for a change – I so don’t want to go back to work tomorrow…

  3. Pingback: The TBR Pile Grows « Me and my books

  4. I LOVE Ibbotson. I liked Countess Below Stairs the best. Her books end with happily ever after, which is what I like about her books. If you are into quite romance, I would recommend her books.

  5. Hey Alisa – I’m loving her romance books, but this one was slightly too “young” for me. I’m sort of torn between The Countess Below Stairs and The Morning Gift as my favourite Ibbotson at the moment…

Leave a Reply

