Way Too Hot…

It’s 27 degrees outside (that’s Celsius, btw – don’t ask me what it is in Farenheit) and not much cooler indoors.  This is madness for May weather.  It’s not so bad at the weekends when I can just sit outside on my balcony and not do much (okay, not do anything), but getting to work and back tomorrow is going to be a nightmare.  London transport is not built for hot weather.  Just thinking about it depresses me.

Anyway, I finished reading the new Sookie Stackhouse.  It’s a longer book than I expected it to be – not sure if that’s necessarily a good thing.  One thing I’ve noticed about Charlaine Harris is that she’s not afraid to take irrevocable decisions with her characters and plots.  I’m trying to figure out if that’s a good or bad thing.

That’s all I’m going to say at the moment – it’s too hot to actually think.

12 thoughts on “Way Too Hot…

  1. The weather is crazy isn’t it? can hardly believe, it’s so hot. I hear you about public transport, when I was living in Brazil that was nightmare number 1 – at least here in Cambridge I cycle to work. Much better.

    Li, question: do you read Kresley Cole’s Immortals after dark series? If so , do you have the new one?I have two copies (I won one when I had already bought it and couldnt cancel with Amazon) and I could send you one, given that you are near me! Just let me know!

  2. Yep weather’s hot isn’t it. I’ve got my first final exam tomorrow but I haven’t been able to study at all for two days because of the weather. I think in France around Paris we probably passed 30°C because I’m not that weak against heat but the isolation in my house is a nightmare so it’s way fresher in the outside and after a day, I was bleeding from the nose like mad with an awful headache on top of it.

    And the transport is not ideal here either except for the line 14 which is automatic and modern, the other 13 are hell to be in in the summer. Glad I’m spending my holidays away^^

  3. It does feel a bit cooler this morning (*fingers crossed*). I’ve got exams until the 29th, so I’ve been stuck inside my hot, stuffy room all day, studying and envying the people in skimpy clothes walking around outside. I did let myself take a break and go to a barbecue on Saturday, but that was it 😦

  4. Lol. I went to a Celsius/Fahrenheit converter to see what 27 is–only 80! Ahh, that’s just getting warm enough to be comfortable. 😉

    I’m just kidding. I like it hot and I’m used to it, being from the the southern US. But then it may be hot where I live, but everywhere is air conditioned, so I’m totally spoiled. And May is very early to be having hot temperatures. I hope you get a break in the heat soon!

  5. Ana – You’re so lucky you can cycle to work. I’ve never read Kresley Cole, and I’m guessing I wouldn’t appreciate the latest book in a series the way I should! Thanks v much for the offer anyway. You could always do a giveaway on your blog – I reckon quite a few peeps live in the UK – or Western Europe, depending on how generous you feel 😉

    Lisa – LOL. Sorry, didn’t mean to! I finished the book in one go, but like I said, it’s longer than her previous ones, and quite a lot happens.

    La Plume – I’m with you. They need to get air-conditioning on the underground, it would make such a difference!

    Rosario – It does feel cooler now. You should go and study outside 😉

    Jennie – Ahhh, air conditioning. If only. This is the time of year when I start eyeing the air conditioning adverts on the tube, and seriously consider buying one of those portable units.

  6. Hi Li 😀 A few weeks ago, the weather was that hot here in Montreal… but then, it became rainy and lately, it’s a bit chilly. Weird how temperatures keep changing ^_^;

    Hope the weather cools down a tiny bit for you 😀

  7. the sookie stackhouse book was not as exciting as the others but I felt it was necessary since she needed to tie some loose ends and open other possible paths for future books. : ) so I still did like it.

  8. Nicholas – Re possible paths for future books, I’m sort of wondering whether she had the whole storyline planned from the start of the series – or if she made it up as she went along!

    Okay, slight spoilers ahead:
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *

    I’m talking about the plotline involving Sookie’s family. I think that’s part of the reason why I feel slightly ambiguous about this book, I’m not sure if she’s running out of ideas for the series and just chucking stuff in there, because it doesn’t *feel* as though it fits.

    Also, I admit that I don’t really like the path Sookie’s brother goes down in this book. In past books, sure, he was a bit of a jerk, but his love for Sookie sort of redeemed him. Now it’s like he’s a complete and utter a*sehole…

    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *

  9. the fairy think felt a little off, too. I like to think you don’t need fairy blood to have telepathy, because that made me wonder if fairies can read minds. o__o

    I didn’t expect sookie’s brother to do that. D: but yeah, you’re right. he was a really big jerk.

  10. Err… yet MORE SPOILERS – I should probably do a post on this seeing I feel so strongly about it 😉
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    Nicholas – I guess what got to me as that as Sookie stood up for her brother at her wedding, it could have so easily been the other way around…
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *

Leave a Reply

