The TBR Pile Grows

Now that I’m trying to buy more books in ebook format, I’d half-forgotten the thrill of having parcels of books arriving on my doorstep (yes, I’m sad).

Amazon and The Book Depository kindly sent my orders at the same time, so sitting in front of me now are:

  • Eva Ibbotson‘s “The Dragonfly Pool” (children’s), which I mentioned here
     
  • Stephenie Meyer‘s “The Host” (SF), which everyone must have heard of by now
     
  • Eric Berlin‘s “The Puzzling World of Winston Breen” (children’s), which I saw mentioned on a blog somewhere but can’t remember which now (anyone??).  Anyway, the cool part of this book is that there are puzzles and brainteasers scattered throughout the book.  One of the cover blurbs describes it as “…a Da Vinci Code for the Harry Potter set…”.  I couldn’t resist.  Website here, if anyone is interested.
     
  • Mary Stewart‘s *okay, deep breath here* “Madam, Will You Talk?”, “Airs Above the Ground”, “The Moonspinners”, and “Nine Coaches Waiting” (romance), titles mostly chosen at random based on what The Book Depository had in stock.  I say mostly, because I love the title of the first one and I’m a sucker for the dancing Lipizzaner horses, hence the first two choices.

 Not a bad haul, methinks!

14 thoughts on “The TBR Pile Grows

  1. The Eva Ibbotson’s book looks tasty ^^

    On the other hand, I’m more wary of the last book of Stephanie Meyer. Yeah I know. I mean I shouldn’t be like this just because Eclipse is a waste of time.
    In fact, the main reason is that it’s science fiction and you know what? I finished Grimspace yesterday and I gotta say I was extremely disappointed, especially since it was my first attempt at the genre since Falling Free of Lois Mcmaster Bujold which I didn’t finish. I still forced myself to finish the book because for once I bought it before having read it.

    The back cover of Erin Berlin’s book looks fun but the cover is dead ugly. I wouldn’t even spare it a glance if I came across it in a bookshop. Last children books I bought on a whim (still haven’t read them though) are His Dark Materials Trilogy by Phillip Pullman – everybody knows it because of the movie – and The Land of Elyon Trilogy as well as the first book of the Atherton series by Patrick Carman. I dare anyone not to buy his books once one sees his mini-sites.

  2. La Plume – “The Host” has been getting great reviews left, right and centre, so I admit I have high expectations.

    Sorry to hear you didn’t like “Grimspace” – I would say it is more SF romance, than SF though, if that makes sense. Err if you haven’t been completely put off LMB, I would rec “The Warrior’s Apprentice”, because that is the start of the series proper. I haven’t yet read “Falling Free”, so have no idea what it’s like.

  3. Yep I know You told me last time to start with Warrior’s apprentice, I just haven’t gathered enough courage to give it a try yet.

    It’s not really the fact that it was more romance than SF that bothered me, it’s just the way the whole book was done. The present tense worked well, but well too much slang, I hate slang, I believe you can have witty and cynic discussions without resorting to that. It felt like a copy of Patricia Briggs‘ way of writing albeit poorly done. And the whole book just didn’t make any sense. There was no plot whatsoever, it just went from a point to the other without any twist -_- No real description about the universe. No really, I really felt like I lost my time ( though I guess it doesn’t reach the level of hatred I feel for Kathleen E.Woodiwiss‘s The Flame and the Flower at least here the characters had character, even if someone gives me money to read another Woodiwiss I won’t even bother. I’m disgusted for life).

    I guess it’s either you love it, either you hate it. For once, I’m in the minority.

    Coming back to Lois Mcmaster Bujold, I’m actually more curious about her Sharing Knife series, so I guess I’ll read The Warrior’s Apprentice after Sharing Knife.
    But it will have to wait though, I’m still reading The Well of Ascension [Mistborn 2]by Brandon Sanderson and planning to follow it by the Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind.

  4. I haven’t heard of the Eric Berlin book. I’ll have to check it out–sounds interesting. I read Mary Stewart’s books years ago and loved them. I haven’t read one in a long time, but I hope you enjoy them. I have Meyer’s book on reserve at my library and will hopefully read it in a few weeks.

    I’ve been receiving books in the mail, too–it’s so much fun to open packages of books!

  5. La Plume – Sounds as though you’re on a proper fantasy kick! I’m def getting the Mistborn book next month.

    Jan – For some reason,I’m in no rush to read the Meyer – just not in the right mood, I guess! I’m starting with the Mary Stewarts and am really enjoying them so far.

  6. LOL, it’s a thrill no? Coming home and finding a package for you at the door 😀 I’m maniac about them… whenever I order books, I can count the days it’ll take for it to arrive.. and when it’s not there, I rage LOL 🙂

  7. Nath – I’m the opposite! I tend to forget that I’ve bought the books (esp if they’re special orders and take more than a couple of days), and then when they turn up, it’s more like “Oh yeah, I remember these…”.

  8. LOL, not me. I swear, I count the days till it arrives. Especially since I get an email whenever they ship the books. I’ve even figured out how much time it takes from the different warehouses, LOL 🙂 I’m obsessive about books parcels 😛

  9. Ooh, very good Stewart choices. Madam, Will You Talk? was my first Stewart and will always hold a special place in my heart because of it.

  10. Nath – The time from different warehouses??? LOL – okay, that’s obsessive 😀

    Angie – I’ve already read the first two, they were very good!

    Also, both of these are very different from the first two Stewarts that I’ve read (Thornyhold and Rose Cottage) – those were more quiet pastoral books, whereas the suspense and danger in these ones are much more of the in-your-face type. On balance, I think I prefer these.

  11. Yaay! Excellent Stewart choices. 🙂

    And I’m with Nath–I never forget I have new books on order. I’m so impatient I end up checking the website every day to see if they’ve shipped. (And then when I finally get them they usually go into the TBR for at least a while, sometimes a loooong time. It’s horrible.) :p

Leave a Reply

