Books for June

I’m v excited about some new releases due out this month.

First up is Jacqueline Carey‘s “Kushiel’s Mercy” (dark fantasy):  This completes the Imriel trilogy (previous books are “Kushiel’s Scion” and “Kushiel’s Justice”).  I admit I had doubts about Imriel as the protagonist for this trilogy, but they quickly faded as soon as I read the first book.  I can’t wait to see how she finishes off his story.

Excerpt here – warning: contains big spoiler for second book if you haven’t yet read it (out June 12)

 

Then there’s Diana Peterfreund‘s “Rites of Spring (Break)” (YA):  I read the first book in this series, “Secret Society Girl”, a couple of weeks back and immediately had a bit of a fan-girl squee about it.  I more or less zoomed through the second book (“Under the Rose”), and while I didn’t rate it as highly as the former (minor gripes – firstly, the novelty has worn off slightly, and secondly, I think there was more telling than showing), I still love the world Ms Peterfreund has created.  I can’t wait to read the third.  And surely she’s not teasing about the possible romance?

Excerpt here (out June 24)

 

Next is Lynn Flewelling‘s “Shadows Return” (fantasy):  I didn’t expect she would ever return to her her Nightrunners world, but am happy to be proven wrong!  This is the fourth book in the series (and her website says a fifth is scheduled for next year – yay!).  Okay, bear with me because it’s been a while since I’ve read them and my memory’s a bit sketchy, but these books basically revolve around the adventures of noble-cum-spy Seregil and his former-apprentice-now-lover Alec.  Think “saving the kingdom”-type fantasy.  Ms Flewelling writes a good story.

Various excerpts on Ms Flewelling’s Livejournal (out June 24)

 

Brandon Sanderson‘s “Mistborn: The Well of Ascension” (fantasy):  I am trying to rein in my spending (honest!), so I’ve been waiting for the paperback release of this book.  It’s the second in the Mistborn trilogy, which is a fantasy with an interesting almost-scientific magic system.  I did like the first book, and I’m impressed that I refrained from buying the hardcover.   I probably shouldn’t pat myself on the back yet though, because the third book “Mistborn: The Final Empire” is also out this month… (edited to correct: M:TFE is a re-release of the first book, the third book is out in October, which will help my wallet – thanks La Plume for the info!).

Excerpts and other bonus information here

 

And then there’s Janet Evanovich‘s “Fearless Fourteen” (mystery):  No, I haven’t yet managed to wean myself off Stephanie Plum (though I haven’t bought the St Patrick’s Day novella – it’s a step in the right direction, isn’t it?).  Despite the fact the Stephanie-Morelli-Ranger love triangle never goes anywhere (I’m a Morelli girl myself), I’m still a Plum addict.  It’s the offbeat humour that pulls me in – I almost always have at least one laugh-out-loud moment when reading Stephanie Plum.  I say “almost” because I thought the last book was actually a bit of a letdown.  So while I definitely am getting FF, it had better be good.

Excerpt here (out June 17)

 

Umm… and a maybe for Tanya Huff‘s “Heart of Valor” (military SF) – that’s Book 3 in the Confederation series.  But – and I know this sounds terrible – I can’t remember if I’ve already read it.  Arrrghhh.  I need to go and read a few pages in the bookstore.

9 thoughts on “Books for June

  1. Kushiel’s Mercy! Woo! Cripes I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

    I haven’t read Lynn Flewelling’s Nightrunner books, but I have read her Tamir trilogy–which was absolutely wonderful. Hmm maybe it’s time to get onboard with the Nightrunner series 🙂 Thanks for the heads up!

  2. Thea – I can’t wait to read Kushiel’s Mercy. I’m going to check out the bookstores this weekend to see if there are any copies put out early.

    I loved Lynn Flewelling’s Tamir trilogy too. Well, the first two, anyway, because by the time the third came out, I only had a vague memory of the story! IIRC, the Nightrunners books are lighter, more fun books, without the dark side that the Tamir books had. I just checked, and the first book came out in 1996 and the third in 1999, so that is quite a long break between books!

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed Mistborn ^^
    Just a small correction though, the paperback version you’ve bought entitled the first book Mistborn but in fact for the hardcover version of the first book the title was Mistborn: The Final Empire. So what’s out this month is actually a rerelease of the paperback version of the first book with a brand new cover.
    The third book is planned to be published in October ^^ The cover of the second book is gorgeous I admit, plus the book is even thicker than the first one. There’s a bit more romance in the second one as we see the story mainly from Elend and Vin and don’t remember his name but the man who taught her how to behave like a lady. What I did like was the building friendship between Vin and Mr X [ can’t tell you who haha]^^ Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

    I’ve been hearing about Lynn Flewelling, good reviews from people. Still, I got to admit when I first went to her website and saw the cover of Shadow Return, I was not hooked. I personally find this cover pretty ugly. But the really brief summary you gave made me curious. I add the Nightrunner series to the “to read” list.
    Same problem with Jacqueline Carey, except she writes at the first person and I’m definitely not in the mood for that. Still, if you liked it, I should give it a try. Not for now though.

    For lighter read, I’ll remember Diana Peterfreund, your previous review was – REALLY convincing ^^

    By the way, have you read Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind? I’ve read at 1/3 of the first one so far but I have to admit I’m not even interested in the slightest. I don’t know if it’s because I sort of put Brandon Sanderson as a standard in my head -_- I don’t know it just feels too – classic.
    It just reminds me too much of Tolkien and I deeply hate his Lord of the Ring Trilogy. I’m still gonna persevere though, he wrote 12 books in this series, it must be good at one point…

    Thus, I’ve taken a small break from that book and started Beguilement by Lois Mcmaster Bujold. I’m glad I gave it a try, I like it ^^ So thanks a bunch for the recommendation ^^ Plus the book is not too thick. I mean, I’ve read Elantris and the 2 Mistborn one after the other so reading smaller books is sort of refreshing 😀

  4. More books to add to my wishing list LOL 😀 I’m going to give a try to Lynn Flewelling as, OMG, they are available at the library! Yay!

    I have the first books in the Kushiel’s series, but have yet to crack one open ^_^;

    and I’m proud to say, I successfully weaned myself from the Plum books 😀 I’m just tired of the love triangle! and I’m a Morelli girl too!! Morelli all the way… I don’t even understand Stephanie’s attraction to Ranger.

  5. I still have the #13 Stephanie Plum in my TBR. I’ve loved the series, but I think all the negative comments out there in blogland are starting to influence me. I remember that #12 was really funny. I’ll be curious to see what you think of 14–maybe it’ll get me to finally read 13. 🙂

  6. La Plume – Thanks for the info, I’ve corrected my post! Lynn Flewelling is def worth a read, though I’m thinking her Tamir trilogy may be more to your taste. I’ve never read Terry Goodkind – I went through a phase when I read lots of fantasy sagas (think Raymond E Feist, Tracy Hickman & Margaret Weis, etc), but it’s been a while since I’ve actually read a really thick / long fantasy. And I’m glad you like LMB!

    Nath – More books is always a good thing. New authors are even better. 😉

    Ms Peterfreund – Now I really can’t wait. Arrghhh.

    Jennie – #12 was funny, IIRC. #13… well, I think there was something missing. And the least said about the between-the-numbers books, the better.

  7. I actually started to read the first two chapters of Luck in the Shadows and the storyline on the whole looks promising. But I really don’t know how I’m going to react with the gay relashionship ( yeah well I know, you can call it narrow mindedness I don’t really mind). Usually, in books I’ve read if there’s some gay relations, it’s for side characters so the authors don’t dwell on in too much. Here it’s the main story so I honestly don’t know. It’s written in a way that’s makes it agreeable to read though, so I’ll definitely read it at least at the end of this summer (so many books I’ve planned to read already!), but I’ll follow your advice and start with theTamir Trilogy first ^^
    Btw the way you reminded me I’ve got to read Raymond E.Feist, heard countless praises about him.

  8. La Plume – I probably should have made it clearer that there were m/m elements, sorry. Feist’s “Magician” is the one to start with, if you’re interested. Having said that, it’s quite a while since I’ve read any of his books!

Leave a Reply

