Sony Reader Coming to the UK

It took a while, but we’re finally catching up. 

Waterstones will start selling the Sony Reader in September (for £199), while Borders / Books Etc here have the iLiad Book Edition in stores.

I’ve had a peek at the iLiad, and while I love the fact the screen size is so much larger than the Sony Reader, I can’t justify spending £399 on another ebook device (plus I have all my ebooks in LRF format, and I’m not prepared to spend hours converting them to the Mobipocket format!)

I’m happy that Sony is releasing their Reader here in the UK, mainly because now I don’t have to live in fear that I’ll break mine with no easy way to get it repaired.  I’m wondering about UK ebook pricing though, I’m hoping that they will be cheaper than paper books.

7 thoughts on “Sony Reader Coming to the UK

  1. You sound like a happy camper 😀 and wow, 399pounds for an e-reader… that is expensive!! no wonder why you can’t justify spending that amount of money…

    maybe I should get an e-reader too… one day LOL 🙂

  2. Can’t you read rtf or htm on the Sony? Then there’s no way they can get away with charging more than in the US for the ebooks. You just get the lit version from the US sites and convert it to rtf!

  3. Nath – The Sony Reader wasn’t that expensive, think I got it for around £150 (it was $300 with a good exchange rate!).

    All in all, I’m saving money by buying books on US websites because books are about one and a half times more expensive here. So if on average, I save a couple of dollars on a paperback and probably more on a hardback, I think I have more or less made back the cost in savings on books already. And that’s not counting all the free ebooks that have been offered in the past few months or the fact that some books are only available in ebook format. On the other hand, you could always say I wouldn’t have spent the money otherwise 😉

    Rosario – There is a brilliant freeware convertor tool out there (Calibre) for the Sony that converts pretty much any format to the Sony LRF. I’m just worried that the US sites will be forced to implement some sort of limitation on selling to non-US residents, which would really suck.

  4. To tell you the truth, I am not a fan of e-books. I mean, I LOVE the fact that they are a bit cheaper than actual books, but I like having something physical in my hands. Also, I really like the swishing sound of turning pages. So relaxing…

  5. Alisa – The other big plus of ebooks for me is the fact they don’t take up any space – my flat isn’t very large and I am rapidly running out of shelf space. Having said that, I do agree that nothing quite is the same as having a physical book in your hands! When I read an ebook I completely love, I am very tempted to run out and get the paper version as well.

  6. I was a bit concerned about being stuck with buying books from Waterstones but your answer to Rosario’s question helped clarify matters. Ok, now I REALLY want it LOL

  7. Ana – Before I bought mine, I researched this (yes, I’m a geek!), and if you don’t mind doing some file conversions, you can buy books from pretty much anywhere. If you do get it, I’ll be more than happy to walk you through this!

    I love my Reader 🙂

Leave a Reply

