Around the Web

Diana Gabaldon’s posted an excerpt from “An Echo in the Bone”, which, fingers and everything else crossed, will be released in the fall of 2009.  I really really want.  Another recent post of hers touched upon scene-building – a peek into how she writes, which is fascinating indeed.

And while we’re on the subject of author blogging, Diana Peterfreund wrote about the author’s contract with the reader a while ago, specifically series conclusion.  Which was, oh, a bit of a hot topic sometime back  😉   I think she makes a lot of sense, and this bodes well for the conclusion of the Secret Society series.  The fourth and final book is titled “Tap and Gown”, btw, and comes out next summer.  I love the title (heck, I love everything about this series) and can’t wait to read it.

************

Btw, I’m trialling Google’s Chrome beta browser, and wow – it’s fast.  I normally use Internet Explorer (even though I’ve Firefox on my machine as well, which is supposed to beat IE hands down) but am reluctant to go back to it after just two days of using Chrome.  And seriously, before I downloaded Chrome, I would never have said that speed was a deciding factor at all.

I’ve read about the privacy concerns, but to be perfectly honest, I don’t really care what info Google holds about me.  I figure I use Google as my main search engine so often anyway that they probably know all there is to know about my online habits!

The bits I’m not so happy with:

(1) I would love to be able to change text size.  In IE, you just click the magnifying glass at the bottom right of the screen, but it’s not possible in Chrome.  I may actually have to go back to IE for websites with small text.

(2) I don’t like tabs, and I wish there was a way of having new windows open by default instead of tabs.  Oh, and I don’t like how the new window opens almost directly on top of the original one when you right-click and select new window.  More offsetting please.  Err yes, I’m picky.

But so far, so good, and it is only a very early beta.  Here’s hoping they release more features soon!

7 thoughts on “Around the Web

  1. Ooooh I cannot WAIT for Diana Gabaldon’s next installment! The Outlander series is one of my all time favorites!

    Haven’t tried the new browser yet although I’ve been hearing good things…maybe I’ll give it a go 🙂 Thanks!

  2. I still have to give a try to the Diana Peterfreund books 🙂 Thanks for the reminder 🙂 As for opening new windows, can’t you do CTRL+N? That should open a new window no?

  3. Was sooooo excited about the excerpt! Over at Reading Romance Books their book club selection for the month is Outlander so I re-read it (already!) and had to start Dragonfly in Amber, pretty sure I’m going to end up re reading the entire series. It’s been sooo long since I first read them! I love them even more than the first time around!!!!! Fall 09 seems so freaking far away though! 😦

  4. Nath – I mean when I click on a link that normally opens in a new window (say, a link in an email), it now opens in a new tab 🙂 I’m getting used to it though!

    Mollie – I don’t think I could do a full re-read of the series. Not unless I had the whole month free or something! Maybe I’ll try to re-read the last one before AEitB comes out…

  5. Ohhh, so that’s what you meant… In that case, check your option. I think you can set it so it opens in a new window instead of a tab 🙂 Or if not, you right-click on links… then select new window… of course, if you’re getting used to it… then, no biggy 🙂

Leave a Reply

